Draft Order laid before Parliament under section 59(9) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009; draft to lie for forty days pursuant to section 6(1) of the Statutory Instruments Act 1946, during which period either House of Parliament may resolve that the Order be not made.

DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2019 No. 0000

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Isle of Wight (Electoral Changes) Order 2019

Made - - - -Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated June 2019 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the Isle of Wight. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired since the day on which it was laid and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act.

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Isle of Wight (Electoral Changes) Order 2019.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on 15th October 2020.
- (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2020;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England(3) in 2021.

^{(1) 2009} c. 20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

⁽³⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50) and section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

Interpretation

2.—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Isle of Wight (Electoral Changes) Order 2019", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(**4**).

(2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Divisions of the Isle of Wight and number of councillors

3.—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the Isle of Wight are abolished.

(2) The Isle of Wight is divided into the 39 electoral divisions listed in Schedule 1.

(3) Each division comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the division.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each division is one.

Wards of the parishes of Cowes, Freshwater, Newport & Carisbrooke, Ryde, Sandown, Shalfleet, Shanklin and Ventnor

4.—(1) The existing wards of the following parishes are abolished—

- (a) Cowes;
- (b) Freshwater;
- (c) Newport & Carisbrooke;
- (d) Ryde;
- (e) Sandown;
- (f) Shalfleet;
- (g) Shanklin; and
- (h) Ventnor.

(2) The parish of Cowes is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 2.

(3) The parish of Freshwater is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 2.

(4) The parish of Newport & Carisbrooke is divided into the seven parish wards listed in the first column of table 3 in Schedule 2.

(5) The parish of Ryde is divided into the seven parish wards listed in the first column of table 4 in Schedule 2.

(6) The parish of Sandown is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 5 in Schedule 2.

(7) The parish of Shalfleet is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 6 in Schedule 2.

(8) The parish of Shanklin is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 7 in Schedule 2.

⁽⁴⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London, SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/south-east/isle-of-wight/isle-of-wight.

Draft Legislation: This is a draft item of legislation. This draft has since been made as a UK Statutory Instrument: The Isle of Wight (Electoral Changes) Order 2020 No. 64

(9) The parish of Ventnor is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of table 8 in Schedule 2.

(10) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(11) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the relevant table in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Name Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Date

Draft Legislation: This is a draft item of legislation. This draft has since been made as a UK Statutory Instrument: The Isle of Wight (Electoral Changes) Order 2020 No. 64

SCHEDULE 1

Article 3

Electoral divisions of the Isle of Wight

- 1. Bembridge
- 2. Binstead & Fishbourne
- 3. Brading & St Helens
- 4. Brighstone, Calbourne & Shalfleet
- 5. Carisbrooke & Gunville
- 6. Central Rural
- 7. Chale, Niton & Shorwell
- 8. Cowes Medina
- 9. Cowes North
- 10. Cowes South & Northwood
- 11. Cowes West & Gurnard
- 12. East Cowes
- 13. Fairlee & Whippingham
- 14. Freshwater North & Yarmouth
- **15.** Freshwater South
- 16. Haylands & Swanmore
- 17. Lake North
- 18. Lake South
- 19. Mountjoy & Shide
- 20. Nettlestone & Seaview
- 21. Newchurch, Havenstreet & Ashey
- 22. Newport Central
- 23. Newport West
- 24. Osborne
- 25. Pan & Barton
- 26. Parkhurst & Hunnyhill
- 27. Ryde Appley & Elmfield
- 28. Ryde Monktonmead
- **29.** Ryde North West
- 30. Ryde South East
- 31. Ryde West
- 32. Sandown North
- 33. Sandown South