

Government Gazette

REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

Vol. 453	Pretoria	28	March	2003	No. 24618
----------	----------	----	-------	------	-----------



STAATSKOERANT, 28 MAART 2003

No. 24618 3

GOVERNMENT NOTICE

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

28 March 2003

HIGHER EDUCATION ACT, 1997 (ACT No. 101 of 1997)

AMENDMENT OF THE STATUTE OF THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH-WEST

The University of North-West has made the Statute set out in the Schedule hereto, in accordance with section 32 of the Higher Education Act, 1997 (Act No. 101 of 1997), which is, in terms of the provisions of section 33 of the said Act, hereby published with the approval of the Minister of Education and which comes into operation on the date of this publication.

SCHEDULE

1. In this Schedule the expression "the Statute" means the Statute of the University of North-West promulgated by Government Gazette No 20225, Government Notice No. 788 of 17 June 1999.

2. Paragraph 1 of the Statute is hereby amended by the deletion of the following definition;

"the Act" means the University of North-West (Private) Act, 1996 (Act No. 17 of 1996);".

3. Paragraph 4 of the Statute is hereby amended by the substitution for the paragraph of the following paragraph:

"Manner of appointment of vice-chancellor

4. Subject to section 31(1) of the Higher Education Act, the advertising of the post, the invitation for nomination of candidates, the search for suitable candidates, the criteria for the short-listing of candidates and the interviewing and appointment processes are in the manner determined by the council."

4. Paragraph 17 of the Statute is hereby amended by the substitution for the paragraph of the following paragraph:

"Composition of council

17. (1) The council, as contemplated in section 27 of the Higher Education Act, consists of -

No. 458

- (a) the vice-chancellor;
- (b) the deputy vice-chancellor or deputy vice-chancellors;
- (c) five persons appointed by the Minister;
- (d) two persons elected by the senate from among its members;
- (e) two academic employees elected by the academic employees;
- (f) two students elected by the SRC;
- (g) two non-academic employees elected by the non-academic employees;
- (h) six persons appointed by the council who may not be employees or students of the University, with a broad spectrum of competencies, including in the fields of education, business, finance, law, marketing, information technology and human resource management;
- (i) one person appointed by the Premier of the Province of North-West;
- (j) one person elected by the institutional forum;
- (k) three persons appointed by the convocation;
- (1) one person appointed by the City Council of Mafikeng;
- (m) one person appointed by the University Foundation's Board of Trustees on behalf of the donors; and
- (m) one person appointed by the Premier of the Province of Northern Cape;

(2) The persons referred to in subparagraphs 1(c), (h), (i), (k), (l), (m) and (n) must not be employees of the University to ensure that at least 60 per cent of the members of the council are persons who are not employed by or students of the University.".

5. Paragraph 18 of the Statute is hereby amended by the substitution for the paragraph of the following paragraph:

"Manner of election of council members

18. The members of the council are elected or appointed in the manner determined by the council.".

6. Paragraph 46 of the Statute is hereby amended by the substitution for the paragraph (1) of the following paragraph:

"Composition of senate and term of office of senate members

46. (1) The senate, as contemplated in section 28 of the Higher Education Act, consists of -

- (a) the vice-chancellor;
- (b) the deputy vice-chancellor or deputy vice-chancellors;
- (c) the executive deans of faculties;
- (d) the registrar;
- (e) the director library services;
- (f) two members of the council;
- (g) the dean of students;