No. R. 1255 28 November 2008

# **HEALTH PROFESSIONS ACT, 1974 (ACT NO. 56 OF 1974)**

# REGULATIONS RELATING TO THE CONSTITUTION OF THE PROFESSIONAL BOARD FOR DENTAL THERAPY AND ORAL HYGIENE

The Minister of Health has, in terms of section 15 of the Health Professions Act, 1974 (Act No. 56 of 1974) as amended by Act 29 of 2007, and on the recommendations of the Health Professions Council of South Africa, made the regulations in the Schedule.

## **SCHEDULE**

### **Definitions**

1. In these regulations "the Act" means the Health Professions Act, 1974 (Act No. 56 of 1974) as amended by Act 29 of 2007, and any expression to which a meaning has been assigned in the Act shall bear such meaning and, unless the context indicates otherwise -

"board" means the Professional Board for Dental Therapy and Oral Hygiene established in terms of section 15 of the Act; and

"section" means a section of the Act.

### Constitution of the board

- 2. The board shall consist of the following 13 members who permanently reside in South Africa:
  - (a) three dental therapists, who shall be appointed by the Minister on the basis of nominations by persons with registered postal addresses in the Republic and whose names appear in the register of dental therapists;
  - (b) three oral hygienists, who shall be appointed by the Minister on the basis of nominations by persons with registered postal addresses in the Republic and whose names appear in the register of oral hygienists;
  - (c) two dental assistants, who shall be appointed by the Minister on the basis of nominations by persons with registered postal addresses in the Republic and whose names appear in the register of dental assistants
  - (d) two persons registered with the board, appointed by the Higher Education South Africa (HESA) to represent educational institutions accredited by the board;