GENERAL NOTICE

NOTICE 189 OF 2009 ELECTORAL COMMISSION

ELECTION TIMETABLE

The Electoral Commission hereby gives notice that it has in terms of section 20 of the Electoral Act, 1998, compiled the election timetable set out below to apply to the election of the National Assembly that will be held on 22 April 2009 (A reference to 'section' in this election timetable is a reference to that section of the Electoral Act, 1998 and a reference to "regulation" is a reference to that regulation in the Election Regulations, 2004.)

Cut-off time for act to be performed

An act required in terms of the Electoral Act, 1998 and the Election Regulations, 2004, to be performed by not later than a date stated in the election timetable must be performed before 17:00 on that date.

Notice that list of addresses of voting stations is available for inspection.

The Chief Electoral Officer must give notice by 20 February 2009 that from the date of the notice until the voting day copies of a list containing the addresses of all voting stations will be available for inspection.

Notice of route of mobile voting stations

3 The Chief Electoral Officer must give notice by 20 February 2009 of the route, including the locations and estimated times of stopping of each mobile voting station.

Cut-off date for publication of voters' roll

By 20 February 2009, the Chief Electoral Officer must publish the voters' roll or the segments of the voters' roll to be used in this election in terms of section 24(2).

Cut-off date for submission of list of candidates

Registered parties that intend to contest this election must nominate and submit a list of their candidates for the election to the chief electoral officer in the prescribed manner by 2 March 2009 at 17h00.