25

THE SIERRA LEONE NATIONAL COMMISSION ON SMALL ARMS ACT, 2010

ARRANGEMENT OF SECTIONS

PART I-PRELIMINARY

Section

1. Interpretation.

PART 11-ESTABLISHMENT OF COMMISSION

- . Establishment of Commission.
- 3. Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner.
- 4. Tenure of Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner.
- 5. Functions of Commissioner.
- 6. Remuneration of Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner.
- 7. Other staff of Commission.
- 8. Consultants and experts.
- 9. Functions of Commission.
- 10. Independence of Commission

PART III - ADVISORY COMMITTEE

11. Advisory Committee.

PART IV-FINANCIAL PROVISIONS

- 12. Funds of Commission.
- 13. Accounts and Audit.
- 14. Financial year.
- 15. Annual Report.

Signed this 22nd day of July, 2010.

DR. ERNEST BAI KOROMA,

President.



No. 6



2010

Sierra Leone

The Sierra Leone National Commission on Small Arms Act, 2010.

Short title.

Being an Act to establish a National Commission for the control of the proliferation and the illicit circulation of small arms and light weapons, their ammunitions and other related materials and to provide for other related matters.

Date of commencement.

ENACTED by the President and Members of Parliament in this present Parliament assembled.

ACT

Supplement to the Sierra Leone Gazette Vol. CXLI, No. 53

dated 29th July, 2010

THE SIERRA LEONE NATIONAL COMMISSION ON SMALL ARMS ACT, 2010

ARRANGEMENT OF SECTIONS

PART I-PRELIMINARY

Section

1. Interpretation.

PART 11-ESTABLISHMENT OF COMMISSION

- 2. Establishment of Commission.
- 3. Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner.
- 4. Tenure of Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner.
- 5. Functions of Commissioner.
- 6. Remuneration of Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner.
- 7. Other staff of Commission.
- 8. Consultants and experts.
- 9. Functions of Commission.
- 10. Independence of Commission

PART III - ADVISORY COMMITTEE

11. Advisory Committee.

PART IV-FINANCIAL PROVISIONS

- 12. Funds of Commission.
- 13. Accounts and Audit.
- 14. Financial year.
- 15. Annual Report.

Signed this 22nd day of July, 2010.

DR. ERNEST BAI KOROMA,

President.



No. 6



2010

Sierra Leone

The Sierra Leone National Commission on Small Arms Act, 2010.

Short title.

Being an Act to establish a National Commission for the control of the proliferation and the illicit circulation of small arms and light weapons, their ammunitions and other related materials and to provide for other related matters.

J Date of commencement.

ENACTED by the President and Members of Parliament in this present Parliament assembled.

PART I -PRELIMINARY

Interpretation.

- 1. In this Act unless the context otherwise requires—
 - "Advisory Committee" means the Sierra Leone National Commission on Small Arms Advisory Committee established by section 11;
 - "Chairman" means the Chairman of the Sierra Leone National Commission Advisory Committee appointed under section 11:
 - "Commission" means the Sierra Leone National Commission on Small Arms established by section 2;
 - "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Commission appointed under section 3;
 - "Convention" means the ECOWAS Convention on Small Arms and Light Weapons, their Ammunitions and Other Related Materials, done at Abuja, on 14th June, 2006;
 - "Deputy Commissioner" means the Deputy Commissioner appointed under section 3;
 - "ECOWAS" means the Economic Community of West African States comprising Heads of State and Government of the Member States to the ECOWAS Treaty;
 - "small arms" include small arms and light weapons;
 - "Minister" means the Minister responsible for presidential and pulic affairs.

PART 11—ESTABLISHMENT OF COMMISSION

Establishment of Commission.

2. (1) There is hereby established a body to be known as the Sierra Leone National Commission on Small Arms.

- (2) The Commission shall be a body corporate having perpetual succession and shall be capable of -
 - (a) acquiring, holding and disposing of movable and immovable property;
 - suing and being sued in its corporate name; and
 - (c) performing all such acts as bodies corporate may by law perform.
- (3) The Commission shall have a seal, the use of which shall be authenticated by the signatures of -
 - (a) the Commissioner; or
 - (b) the Deputy Commissioner and any other officer of the Commission authorized, either generally or specifically, by the Commission in that behalf.
 - The Commission shall have-

Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner.

(a) a Commissioner who shall be the head of the Commission: and

(b) a Deputy Commissioner,

both of whom shall be appointed by the President from among persons with the professional and other qualifications relevant to the functions of the Commission subject to the approval of Parliament.

4. (1) The Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner shall each Tenure of hold office for a term of five years and shall be eligible for re-appointment for another term of five years only.

Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner.

(2) The Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner may be removed from office by the President only for inability to perform the functions of his office, whether arising from infirmity of body or mind or for stated misconduct.