[LETTER OF INSTRUCTIONS NO. 1289, February 11, 1983]

TO: Ministry of Agriculture
Ministry of Public Works and Highways
Ministry of Trade and Industry
National Food Authority

Central Bank of the Philippines

Declaring the following provinces as initial MAISAGANA EXPORT ZONES — Pangasinan, Cagayan, Isabela, Quirino, Albay, Camarines Sur, South Cotabato, North Cotabato, Maguindanao and Sultan Kudarat.

WHEREAS, the country has been importing large volumes of feedgrains each year to support our rapidly growing livestock industry;

WHEREAS, in the face of the worst balance of payments deficit in our recent past due primarily to a severe worldwide recession, the Maisagana export drive can not only remove corn imports but actually immediately earn foreign exchange for the country, in the short run; and

WHEREAS, we must now take steps both to increase production and to prepare the ground work to support a new export industry the beginning of 1985.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FERDINAND E. MARCOS, by the powers vested in me by the Constitution do hereby order and instruct:

1. The following provinces are declared as the initial Corn Export Zones under the Maisagana program:

Zone	I	Pangasinan
	II	Isabela Cagayan Quirino
	III	Albay Camarines Sur
	IV	South Cotabato North Cotabato Maguindanao Sultan Kudarat

- 2. The Ministry of Agriculture shall ensure the full retraining of production technicians for Maisagana, conduct comprehensive soil analysis to determine the suitability for corn production of specific sites in these zones, and ensure an adequate supply and distribution of various inputs, especially seeds.
- 3. The Ministry of Public Works and Highways (MPWH) shall give top priority to the dredging, construction and improvement of ports and the construction of national and farm-to- market roads and bridges in these corn export zones.