[BATAS PAMBANSA BLG. 48, December 19, 1979]

AN ACT CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OP DIPLAHAN IN THE PROVINCE OF ZAMBOANGA DEL SUR.

Be it enacted by the Batasang Pambansa in session assembled:

SECTION 1. The barangays of Diplahan, Kauswagan, Butong, Sta. Cruz, Lobing, Goling, Songcoya, Lindang and the sitios of Managon, Tono, Mejo and Tinongtongan in the Municipality of Malangas; the barangays of Del Monte, Moyo, Guitom, Gaulan, Villacastor, Balangao and Sampole in the Municipality of Buug; and the barangays of Ditay, Ginoman, Lu-op, Del Pilar, Paradise, Maneja, and Sampole in the Municipality of Siay, all within the Province of Zamboanga del Sur, are hereby separated from said municipalities and constituted into a distinct and independent municipality in the same province to be known as the Municipality of Diplahan. The seat of government of the new municipality shall be in Barangay Diplahan.

SEC. 2. The Municipality of Diplahan shall be bounded as follows:

"Beginning from point 1, center of La Dicha Bridge; thence 67 degrees, 30 minutes southwest, 4,200 meters to point 2; thence 59 degrees northwest, 7,600 meters to point 3; thence due north, 14,700 meters to point 4; thence due east, 7,000 meters to point 5; thence due south, 19,600 meters back to point 1, with an approximate area of fourteen thousand eight hundred (14,800) hectares."

SEC. 3. After ratification by the majority of the votes cast in a plebiscite to be conducted in the area or areas affected within a period of one hundred twenty (120) days after the approval of this Act, the President (Prime Minister) shall appoint the Mayor and members of the Sangguniang Bayan of the new Municipality of Diplahan.

SEC. 4. Such sum as may be determined by the Commission on Elections which will be needed for the conduct and supervision of the plebiscite mentioned in Section 3 hereof shall be charged against the appropriation of the COMELEC for the holding of election/referendum/plebiscite as approved in KBI No. 1.1.3, Batas Pambansa Blg. 40.

SEC. 5. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Approved, December 19, 1979.



Source: Supreme Court E-Library This page was dynamically generated by the E-Library Content Management System (E-LibCMS)