[Act No. 140, June 12, 1901]

AN ACT DEFINING THE JUDICIAL DISTRICTS OF THE PHILIPPINE ISLANDS, PRESCRIBING THE SALARIES OF THE JUDGES THEREOF, AND THE TIMES WHEN AND THE PLACES WHERE TERMS OF COURTS OF THE FIRST INSTANCE SHALL BE HELD IN THE SEVERAL DISTRICTS.

By authority of the President of the United States, be it enacted by the United States Philippine Commission, that:

SECTION 1. The following judicial districts for Courts of First Instance in the Philippine Islands are hereby established:

The city of Manila shall constitute one judicial district, to be known as the Judicial District of Manila, and the other judicial districts shall severally consist of the provinces and islands as hereinafter stated.

The first Judicial District shall consist of the Provinces of Ilocos Norte, Cagayan, Isabela, and Nueva Viscaya.

The Second Judicial District shall consist of the Provinces of Ilocos Sur, Abra, Bontoc, and Lepanto.

The Third Judicial District shall consist of the Provinces of Union, Benguet, Pangasinan, and Zambales.

The Fourth Judicial District shall consist of the Provinces of Tarlac, Pampanga, and Nueva Ecija.

The Fifth Judicial District shall consist of the Provinces of Bulacan, Bataan, and Rizal.

The Sixth Judicial District shall consist of the Provinces of Laguna, Cavite, Principe, Tayabas, Infanta, and the Island of Polillo.

The Seventh Judicial District shall consist of the Provinces of Batangas, Marinduqe, and Mindoro.

The Eighth Judicial District shall consist of the Provinces of Sorsogon, Albay, Ambos Camarines, Masbate, and shall include also the Island of Catanduanes.

The Ninth Judicial District shall consist of the Provinces of Romblon, Capiz, and Iloilo.

The Tenth Judicial District shall consist of the Provinces of Antique, Occidental Negros, and Oriental Negros.

The Eleventh Judicial District shall consist of the Provinces of Cebu and Bohol.

The Twelfth Judicial District shall consist of the Provinces of Samar, Leyte, and Surigao.

The Thirteenth Judicial District shall consist of the Provinces of Misamis, the Island of Basilan, and the districts of the Island of Mindanao known as Zamboanga, Cottabato, and Davao, and the Comandancia of Dapitan.

The Fourteenth Judicial District shall consist of the Island of Paragua, with its contiguous small islands, the Tawi-Tawi group, the Jolo group, the Calamianes group, and the Cuyos group.

SEC. 2. The annual salaries of the judges of the Courts of First Instance for the several districts shall be as follows, payable monthly:

For the Second, Thirteenth, and Fourteenth Districts, three thousand dollars.

For the First District, three thousand five hundred dollars.

For the Fifth, Sixth, Seventh, and Eighth Districts, four thousand dollars.

For the Third, Fourth, Tenth, and Twelfth Districts, four thousand five hundred dollars.

For the Ninth and Eleventh Districts, five thousand dollars.

For the District of Manila, five thousand five hundred dollars.

SEC. 3. The several judges of judicial districts shall hold regular terms of a Court of First Instance within their districts, at the times and places hereinafter prescribed:

MANILA.

In and for the city of Manila, commencing on the first Mondays of January, April, July, and October.

FIRST DISTRICT.

At Laoag, in and for the Province of Ilocos Norte, commencing on the first Tuesdays of January and July of each year.

At Tuguegarao, in and for the Province of Cagayan, commencing on the third Tuesdays of February and August of each year.

At Iligan, in and for the Province of Isabela, commencing on the first Tuesdays of April and October of each year.

At Bayombong, in and for the Province of Nueva Vizeaya, commencing on the first Tuesdays of May and November of each year.

SECOND DISTRICT.

At Vigan, in and for the Province of Ilocos Sur, commencing on the first Tuesdays of January, May, July, and November of each year.

At Bangued, in and for the Province of Abra, commencing on the third Tuesdays of February and August of each year.

At Cayan, in the Province of Lepanto, for the Provinces of Bontoc and Lepanto, on the first Tuesdays of April and October each year.

THIRD DISTRICT.

At Lingayen, in and for the Province of Pangasinan, commencing on the first Tuesdays of January, May, July, and November of each year.

At San Fernando, in the Province of Union, for the Provinces of Union and Benguet, commencing on the third Tuesdays of February and August of each year.

But the judge may, at any time not inconsistent with the other dates hereby fixed for sessions of court within his district, hold a special session of the court at

Baguio in and for the Province of Benguet.

At Iba, in and for the Province of Zambales, commencing on the first Tuesdays of April and October of each year.

FOURTH DISTRICT.

At Bacolor, in and for the Province of Pampanga, commencing on the first Tuesdays of January, May, July, and November of each year.

At Tarlac, in and for the Province of Tarlac, commencing on the third Tuesdays of February and August of each year.

At San Isidro, in and for the Province of Nueva Bcija, commencing on the first Tuesdays of April and October of each year.

FIFTH DISTRICT.

At Pasig, in and for the Province of Rizal, commencing on the first Tuesdays of January, May, July, and November of each year.

At Malolos, in and for the Province of Bulacan, commencing on the third Tuesdays of February and August of each year.

At Balanga, in and for the Province of Bataan, commencing on the first Tuesdays of April and October of each year.

SIXTH DISTRICT.

At Santa Cruz, in and for the Province of Laguna, commencing on the first Tuesdays of January and July of each year.

At Cavite, in and for the Province of Cavite, commencing on the third Tuesdays of February and August of each year.