## [ Act No. 131, May 22, 1901 ]

## AN ACT PROVIDING FOR THE ESTABLISHMENT OF A WEATHER BUREAU FOR THE PHILIPPINE ISLANDS AND APPROPRIATING EIGHT THOUSAND AND SIXTY-SIX DOLLARS AND FIFTY CENTS, IN MONEY OF THE UNITED STATES, FOR THE PURCHASE OF METEOROLOGICAL INSTRUMENTS AND APPARATUS AND THE INSTALLATION OF THE SAME.

By authority of the President of the United States, be it enacted by the United States Philippine Commission, that:

SECTION 1. A weather bureau is hereby established for the Philippine Islands. It shall be known as the Philippine Weather Bureau.

SEC. 2. The officers of this Bureau shall be: A Director, at an annual salary of two thousand five hundred dollars; three assistant directors, at an annual salary of one thousand eight hundred dollars each; and one corresponding secretary and librarian, at an annual salary of one thousand four hundred dollars. They shall be appointed by the Commission.

SEC. 3. The employees of the Weather Bureau shall be:

(*a*) for the central station: Three first-class observers, at an annual salary of seven hundred and twenty dollars each; two assistant observers and an assistant librarian, at an annual salary of six hundred dollars each; two assistant calculators, at an annual salary of three hundred dollars each; one first-class draftsman, at an annual salary of seven hundred and twenty dollars; one second-class draftsman, at an annual salary of six hundred dollars; one first-class mechanic, at an annual salary of seven hundred and twenty dollars; three assistant mechanics, at annual salaries of six hundred dollars, four hundred and twenty dollars, and three hundred dollars, respectively; two janitors, at an annual salary of one hundred and fifty dollars each; and two messengers, at an annual salary of one hundred and fifty dollars each.

(*b*) For the branch stations: Nine chief observers for first-class stations, at an annual salary of of six hundred dollars each; nine assistant observers for first-class stations, at an annual salary of one hundred dollars each; twenty-five observers for second-class stations, at an annual salary of three hundred dollars each; seventeen observers for third-class stations, at an annual salary of one hundred and eighty dollars each; twenty observers for rain stations, at an annual salary of ninety dollars each.

(c) All employees of the Weather Bureau shall be appointed by the Director, subject to the provisions of the Civil Service Act and of Act Numbered Twenty-five.

SEC. 4. The Director shall have general supervision and control over the work of the Bureau, and shall define the duties of the assistant directors, of the corresponding secretary and librarian, and of all employee. He shall maintain an efficient system of weather forecasts and storm warnings, and shall each day forward forecasts and storm warnings, if any, to the captains of all ports in the Archipelago which are in telegraphic communication with the capital, to the Chief Executive of the Insular

Government, to the Commission, to the heads of all civil Departments and Bureaus in Manila, to the commandant of the naval station at Cavite, and to the public press of Manila, Cebu, and Iloilo. When dangerous storms threaten any portion of the Archipelago, he shall send telegraphic warnings to the threatened district, if practicable. Forecasts and storm warnings shall be sent to all branch stations in telegraphic communication with the central station, and there posted for the benefit of the public. Warnings of dangerous storms likely to strike the Asiatic coast, Formosa, or Japan, shall, if practicable, be communicated by telegraph to the directors of meteorological observatories situated within the threatened areas, or to such persons as may be officially designated by other governments to receive them. The Director shall further cause to be prepared a monthly bulletin and a monthly report. The monthly bulletin shall contain a brief resume of the chief meteorological phenomena of the preceding month, and a comparison between the phenomena observed and the normal conditions for the moth in question, as well as resume of the crop reports received from the branch stations. Five hundred copies of this bulletin in English and five hundred in Spanish shall be published by the Director for free public distribution. The monthly report shall contain the observations made at the central station and the branch stations, together with such discussions of them as the Director may deem profitable, also crop reports from the several stations. Five hundred copies shall be printed. It shall be published in the Spanish language until January first, nineteen hundred and two, and thereafter in the English language. The bulletin and report shall be published by the Manila Observatory, but the Insular Government shall pay the actual cost of paper, typesetting, presswork, and binding. The Director shall further cause such special reports and maps to be prepared from time to time as the Commission may authorize or direct. When it is deemed desirable to publish special reports or maps, the number of copies to be printed and the method of publication, shall, in each case, be fixed by the Commission.

SEC. 5. The central station of the Bureau shall be the Manila Observatory. A monthly expenditure of three hundred and seventy-five dollars, in money of the United States, is hereby authorized for the rental of the instruments, instrument rooms and towers, offices, library, printing room, lithographing room and printing press of the Manila Observatory, for the type necessary to print the monthly bulletins and reports which shall be furnished by the Director, and for the maintenance of instruments.

SEC. 6. There shall be, besides the central station, nine first-class stations, twnetyfive second-class stations, seventeen third-class stations, and twenty rain stations. First-class stations shall be established and maintained at: Zamboanga, Mindanao; Cebu, on the Island of Cebu; Iloilo, Panay; Ormoc, Leyte; Daet, Province of Ambos Camarines, Luzon; Albay or Legaspi, Province of Albay, luzon; Baguio, Province of Benquet, Luzon; Dagupan, Proivnce of Pangasinan, Luzon; and Aparri, Province of Cagayan, Luzon. Second-class staions shall be established and maintained at: Jolo, on the Island of Jolo; Iligan, Mindanao; Dumaguete, Eastern Negros; Loon, Bohol; Maasin, Leyte; Calbayog, Samar; Concepcion, Panay; Tacloban, Leyte; Capiz, Panay; Sorsogon, Province of Sorsogon, Luzon; Pasacao, Province of Ambos Camarines, Luzon; Cabo Santiago, Province of Batangas, Luzon; Antimonan, Province of Tayabas, Luzon; Bacolod, in Western Negros; Mariveles or Corregidor, at the entrance to Manila Bay; Olongapo, Province of Zambales, Luzon; San Isidro, Province of Nueva Ecija, Luzon; Iba and Cape Bolinao, Province of Zambales, Luzon; Baler, District of Principe, Luzon; Bayambong, Province of Nueva Vizcaya, Luzon; Vigan, Province of Ilocos Sur, Luzon; Tuguegarao, Province of Cagayan, Luzon;