[Act No. 940, October 12, 1903]

AN ACT DECLARING THE BARRIOS OF MONTUFAR AND MANLABONG, NOW A PART OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF BACON, AND THE BARRIO OF CALAO, NOW A PART OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF GUBAT, ALL OF THE PROVINCE OF SORSOGON, TO BE A NEW MUNICIPALITY UNDER THE NAME OF PRIETO DIAZ.

By authority of the United States, be it enacted by the Philippine Commission, that:

SECTION 1. The barrios of Montufar and Manlabong, now a part of the municipality of Bacon, and the barrio of Calao, now a part of the municipality of Gubat, all of the Province of Sorsogon, are hereby separated, each from its corresponding municipality, and shall be organized as a new municipality under the name of Prieto Diaz.

SEC. 2. The municipal election in the new municipality of Prieto Diaz shall be held in accordance with the rules contained in Act Numbered Seven hundred and thirty, as amended by Act Numbered Nine hundred and twenty-eight, and when the officers chosen at the election shall have qualified, then the organization of the municipality created in section one shall be deemed effected and its jurisdiction as a municipality shall begin. The elections in the municipalities of Bacon and Gubat shall take place as provided by law except that electors of the barrios united in the first section hereof to form the municipality of Prieto Diaz shall not vote at such elections, but shall vote for the officers of the new municipality.

SEC. 3. The public good requiring the speedy enactment of this bill, the passage of the same is hereby expedited in accordance with section two of "An Act prescribing the order of procedure by the Commission in the enactment of laws," passed September twenty-sixth, nineteen hundred.

SEC. 4. This Act shall take effect on its passage.

Enacted, October 12, 1903.



Source: Supreme Court E-Library
This page was dynamically generated by the E-Library Content Management System (E-LibCMS)