[Act No. 960, October 23, 1903]

AN ACT REDUCING THE FORTY-THREE MUNICIPALITIES OF THE PROVINCE OF SAMAR TO TWENTY-FIVE.

By authority of the United States, be it enacted by the Philippine Commission, that:

SECTION 1. The forty-three municipalities of the Province of Samar shall, in accordance with the provisions of this Act, be reduced to twenty-five, as follows:

- 1. The municipality of Catbalogan shall consist of its present territory and that of the municipalities of Jiabong and Tarangnan, including their barrios and respective adjacent islands, except the barrios of Tarangnan known as Bangon, Pagsanhan, San Luis, Pagui, and Caloniogan, with the seat of the municipal government at the present municipality of Catbalogan.
- 2. The municipality of Gandara shall consist of its present territory and that of the barrios of Bangon, Pagsanhan, San Luis, Pagui, and Caloniogan, now in the municipality of Tarangnan, with the seat of the municipal government at the present municipality of Gandara.
- 3. The municipality of Paranas shall consist of its present territory and that of the municipalities of Motiong and San Sebastian, with the seat of the municipal government at the present municipality of Paranas, under the denomination of municipality of Wright.
- 4. The municipality of Calbayog shall consist of its present territory and that of the municipalities of Santa Rita and Weyler, with the seat of the municipal government at the present municipality of Calbayog.
- 5. The municipality of Santo Niño shall preserve its present boundaries.
- 6. The municipality of Almagro shall preserve its present boundaries.
- 7. The municipality of Oquendo shall preserve its present boundaries.
- 8. The municipality of La Granja shall consist of its present territory and that of the municipality of San Antonio, with the seat of the municipal government at the present municipality of La Granja, under the denomination of municipality of Allen.
- 9. The municipality of Capul shall preserve its present boundaries.
- 10. The municipality of Lavezares shall preserve its present boundaries.
- 11. The municipality of Catarman shall consist of its present territory and that of the municipalities of Bobon and Mondragon, with the seat of the municipal government at the present municipality of Catarman.
- 12. The municipality of Pambujan shall preserve its present boundaries.