[Act No. 956, October 23, 1903]

AN ACT REDUCING THE THIRTY-ONE MUNICIPALITIES OF THE PROVINCE OF TAYABAS TO TWENTY-SEVEN.

By authority of the United States, be it enacted by the Philippine Commission, that:

SECTION 1. The thirty-one municipalities of the Province of Tayabas shall, in accordance with the provisions of this Act, be reduced to twenty-seven, as follows:

- 1. The municipality of Mulanay shall consist of its present territory and that of the municipalities of Bondoc and San Narciso, with the seat of the municipal government at the present municipality of Mulanay.
- 2. The municipality of Pitogo shall consist of its present territory and that of the municipalities of Macalelon and Unisan, with the seat of the municipal government at the present municipality of Pitogo.
- 3. The municipality of Sampaloc shall consist of its present territory and that of the barrios of Bilucao, Banot, and Sambueno, of the present municipality of Mauban, with the seat of the municipal government at the present municipality of Sampaloc.
- 4. The municipality of Mauban shall consist, of its present territory, except that of the barrios of Bilucao, Banot, and Sambueno, now a part of the municipality of Mauban, which shall be united with the municipality of Sampaloc.
- 5. The municipalities of Alabat. Atimonan, Baler, Boac, Calauag, Candelaria, Catanauan. Gasan, Guinayangan, Gumaca, Infanta, Casiguran, Lopez, Lucena, Lucban, Mogpog, Pagbilao, Polillo, Santa Cruz, Sariaya, Tayabas, Tiaong, and Torrijos shall preserve their present boundaries.
- SEC. 2. The municipal elections in each of the new municipalities described in the first four paragraphs of section one hereof shall be held in accordance with the rules contained in Act Numbered Seven hundred and thirty, as amended by Act Numbered Nine hundred and twenty-eight. When the new municipal officials shall have been elected and shall have qualified, the present organization of each of the municipalities mentioned in section one of this Act, except those described in paragraph five of said section, shall be thereby abolished, and all offices held by virtue of their present organization shall be vacant and abolished, so that all the present municipal officials shall cease to hold office as soon as the new officials shall have taken the oath of office. Until the officials elected for the new municipalities, as described in section one, shall have qualified, the present organization of the existing municipalities shall continue.
- SEC. 3. The public good requiring the .speedy enactment of this bill, the passage of the same is herein- expedited in accordance with section two of "An Act prescribing the order of procedure by the Commission in the enactment of laws," passed September twenty-sixth, nineteen hundred.
- SEC. 4. This Act shall take effect on its passage.