[Act No. 1322, April 13, 1905]

AN ACT REDUCING THE ELEVEN MUNICIPALITIES OF THE PROVINCE OF ISABELA TO NINE, AND PROVIDING FOR THE REFUND TO TOMAS GATAN OF ONE THOUSAND FIVE HUNDRED PESOS DONATED BY HIM TO THE MUNICIPALITY OF SANTO TOMAS IN SAID PROVINCE.

By authority of the United States, be it enacted by the Philippine Commission, that:

SECTION 1. The eleven municipalities of the Province of Isabela shall, in accordance with the provisions of this Act, be reduced to nine, as follows:

- 1. The municipality of Tagle shall consist of the territory of the present municipality of Angadanan, with the seat of the municipal government at the present barrio of Tagle of said municipality.
- 2. The municipality of Cabagan Nuevo shall consist of its present territory and that of the municipalities of Santo Tomas and Cabagan Viejo, with the seat of the municipal government at the present municipality of Cabagan Nuevo: Provided, That the sum of owe thousand five hundred pesos donated by Tomas Gatan to the municipality of Santo Tomas in consideration of said municipality being organized in his honor, shall be returned to said Tomas Gatan, and the expenditure of said sum from the general funds of the present municipality of Santo Tomas for such purpose is hereby authorized: Provided further, That the school funds now on hand or due to the municipality of Santo Tomas shall, after its consolidation with Cabagan Nuevo, be expended only within the territory of said municipality of Santo Tomas as at present organized: And provided further, That all funds now on hand or due to the present municipality of Cabagan Viejo shall be expended only for public improvements within the territory of the present municipality of Cabagan Viejo.
- 3. The municipalities of Echague, Cauayan, Bamu, Naguilian, Ilagan, Tainauim, and Santa Maria shall preserve their present boundaries.
- SEC. 2. The present municipal officers of the existing municipalities of Angadanan and Cabagan Nuevo, shall respectively continue as the municipal officers of the new municipalities of Tagle and Cabagan Nuevo, as organized by this Act, until the next regular municipal elections shall be held as provided by law: *Provided, however,* That the municipal councilors of the municipalities annexed to Cabagan Nuevo shall continue in office as councilors of the new municipality of that name until the next regular election herein before referred to. With the exception of the municipal councilors, all other municipal officials of the annexed municipalities shall cease to hold office and their positions shall he abolished upon the taking effect of this Act.
- SEC. 3. The public good requiring the speedy enactment of this bill, the passage of the same is hereby expedited ill accordance with section two of "An Act prescribing the order of procedure by the Commission in the enactment of laws," passed September twenty-sixth, nineteen hundred.
- SEC. 4. This Act shall take effect June thirtieth, nineteen hundred and five.