## [ Act No. 2880, January 21, 1920 ]

## AN ACT AUTHORIZING THE SEPARATION OF THE SUBPROVINCE OF MARINDNAQUE FROM THE PROVINCE OF TAYABAS AND THE REESTABLISHMENT OF THE FORMER PROVINCE OF MARINDUQUE, AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Legislature assembled and by the authority of the same:

- SECTION 1. The Governor-General is hereby authorized to reestablish as an independent province, as soon as the public interest may require it, the former Province of Marinduque, consolidated with that of Tayabas under Acts Numbered Four hundred and ninety-nine and Sixteen hundred and forty-nine.
- SEC. 2. The Province of Marinduque so reestablished, shall have the same territory as before its consolidation with the Province of Tayabas, and its capital shall be the municipality of Boac. The provisions of the Adminstirative Code, in so far as they are applicable to a regularly organized province; shall apply to the government and operation of said province and to the election and appointment of the officers thereof.
- SEC. 3. The elective provincial officers of the new Province of Marinduque shall be appointed by the Governor-General, by and with the consent of the Senate, and shall hold office until their successors shall be duly elected at the next general election and shall qualify: *Provided, however,* That the lieutenant-governor of Marinduque elected at the general election of June third, nineteen hundred and nineteen, shall perform the duties of the office of provincial governor of the new province until his successor shall have been elected at the next general election and shall have duly qualified. The provincial officers of Marinduque shall each receive an annual compensation at the rate fixed by the provincial board, which shall not in any case exceed three thousand pesos for the provincial governor, twenty-four hundred pesos for the provincial treasurer, and two thousand pesos for the provincial fiscal, and for each member of the provincial board a per diem not to exceed five pesos for each session actually attended.
- SEC. 4. The Province of Marinduque shall have a Representative in the House of Representatives and shall continue to belong to the Fifth Senate District: *Provided, however,* That the present Representative for the Second Electoral District of Tayabas shall, during his term of office, continue to represent the portion at present comprised in the Second District of Tayabas.
- SEC. 5. At the next election for the office of Representative in the Province of Tayabas, the two electoral districts of said province shall be composed of the following municipalities: First district: Baler, Candelaria, Casiguran, Dolores Infanta, Lucena, Lukban, Mauban, Pagbilao, Polillo, Sampaloc, Sariaya, Tayabas, and Tiaong. Second district: Alabat, Atimonan, Calauag, Catanawan, Guinayangan, Gu-maca, Laguimanok, Lopez, Macalelong, Mulanay, Pitogo, Quezon, San Narciso, and Unisan.
- SEC. 6. The funds and obligations and the property of all kinds to be assigned to the Province of Tayabas and the new Province of Marinduque shall be distributed