[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 612-A, December 17, 2007]

AMENDING EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 612, SERIES OF 2007

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. 612 dated March 27, 2007, reorganized the Department of Foreign Affairs-Maritime and Ocean Affairs Center into the Commission on Maritime and Ocean Affairs (CMOA) under the Office of the President, and defined therein the composition of the Commission;

WHEREAS, the Department of Energy has scientific and technical expertise and resources that are significant to the accomplishment of the mandate and tasks of CMOA;

WHEREAS, the DOE has been actively participating in the scientific technical work involved in the identification of the Philippine baselines and in the preparation of the submission to the United Nations of the country's claim for extended continental shelf;

WHEREAS, in order to be able to fully contribute its knowledge and expertise, the DOE should be an integral part of the CMOA;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, GLORIA MACAPAGAL ARROYO, President of the Republic of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me bylaw, do hereby order:

SECTION 1. Section 3 of Executive Order No. 612 is hereby amended to read as follows:

"SECTION 3. Composition. - The CMOA shall be composed of the Executive Secretary as Chair, the Secretary of Justice and the Secretary of Foreign Affairs as Vice-Chairs, and the following as members: Department of National Defense (DND), National Security Council, Department of Environment and Natural Resources f DENR), Department of Energy (DOE), Department of Budget and Management (DE3M), Department of Transportation and Communications (DOTC), Department of Tourism (DOT), Department of Trade and Industry (DTI), Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources (BFAR), the Solicitor General (SolGen), the Chief Presidential Legal Counsel (CPLC), National Mapping and Resources Information Authority (NAMRiA), and the Philippine Coast Guard (PCG)."

SECTION 2. This Order shall take effect immediately.

Adopted: 17 Dec. 2007