[DOTC, February 12, 2008]

IMPLEMENTING RULES AND REGULATIONS OF EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 628 CREATING THE COMMITTEE ON HARMONIZATION OF VEHICLE STANDARDS AND REGULATIONS (CHVSR)

Pursuant to Executive Order No. 628, dated 20 June 2007, Creating a Committee on Harmonization of Vehicle Standards and Regulations (CHVSR), the Department of Transportation and Communications (DOTC) hereby adopts and promulgates the following rules and regulations:

SECTION 1. Title - These Rules shall be known as the implementing Rules and Regulations of Executive Order No. 628 creating the Committee on Harmonization of Vehicle Standards and Regulations, and shall hereinafter referred to as the "Committee".

SECTION 2. Declaration of Policy - It is the policy of the government to provide efficient, safe, reliable and sustainable transport services in order to improve the quality or life by enhancing vehicle safety, protecting the environment, promoting energy efficiency and increasing anti-theft performance.

SECTION 3. Framework and Objectives:

- 1. Provide measures to ensure that motor vehicles are conforming to or compliant with the standards set under Republic Act No. 4136 otherwise known as the Land Transportation and Traffic Code of the Philinnines. as amended and other related laws;
- 2 Initiate the development, review, revision and publication of vehicle standards every two years, or as the need arises, pursuant to the provisions of Republic Act 4109 otherwise known as the Philippine Standardization Law, to ensure substantial improvement in air duality for the health, safety and welfare of the general public;
- 3 provide for the harmonization of national vehicle emission standards with the international standards as well as setting of fuel quality standards pursuant to the provisions of Republic Act No. 8749 or the "Philippine Clean Air Act'; and
- 4 Establish uniform and simplified standards, procedures and regulations for worldwide recognition pursuant to the objectives of the 1958, 1997 and 1998 WP 29 Agreements
- SECTION 4. Coverage/Composition The Committee shall be composed of the following:
- 1. Chairman: Secretary of the Department of Transportation and Communications

2. Vice-Chairman; Secretary of the Department of Trade and Industry

3. Members:

- A. Representatives from the following departments concerned:
 - 1. Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR),
 - 2. Department of Energy (DOE)
 - 3. Department of Science and Technology (DOST)
 - 4. Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG
 - 5. Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA)
- B. Representative from component agencies:
 - 1. Land Transportation Office (LTO)
 - 2. Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (LTFRB)
 - 3. Bureau of Product Standards (BPS)
 - 4. Board of Investments (BOI)
 - 5. Bureau of Import Services (BIS)
 - 6. Environmental Management Bureau (EMB)
 - 7. Oil industry Management Bureau (OIMB)
 - 8. Energy Utilization Management Bureau (EUMB)
 - 9. Industrial Technology Development Institute (ITDI)
 - 10. Metals Industry Research and Development Center(MIRDC)
 - 11. Philippine Council for Industry and Energy Research and Development (PCIERD)
 - 12. Philippine National Police Traffic Management Group (PNP-TMG)
- C. Representative from the Academe:
 - 1. University of the Philippines (U.P)
- D. Representatives from the private sector:
 - 1. Philippine Automotive Federation Inc. (PAFI)
 - 2. Automobile Association of the Philippines (AAP)
 - 3. Confederation of Land Transportation Organization of the Phils. (COLTOP)

The Committee may however invite other representatives from the academe and the private sector.

SECTION 5. Functions of the Committee:

The Committee shall have the following functions:

- 1. Review the existing Philippine National Standards and other relevant laws and regulations on whether they are in conformity with current international rules and procedures as well as technical regulations;
- 2. Identify, classify and prioritize implementation of type approval system based on

United Nations - Economic Commission for Europe (UN-ECE) standards and regulations;

- 3. Identify safety regulations for harmonization with UN-ECE regulations;
- 4. Identify and establish the institutional and technical infrastructure requirements to enhance participation to the WP 29.
- 5. Consult and coordinate with the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) and other bodies concerned concerning the country's accession to relevant UN Agreements and Conventions;
- 6. Perform such other duties and functions which may be necessary in the attainment of the objectives of WP 29, and such other acts as maybe necessary and proper to implement the provisions of EO 628.

SECTION 6. Subcommittees:

Pursuant to Section 2 of EO 628 the following Sub-Committees are hereby created with their respective composition:

1. Sub-Committee on Standards Development

Chairman: Bureau of Product Standards (BPS);

Co-Chairman: Oil industry Management Bureau (OI.MB); Vice-Chairman: Philippine Automotive Federation Inc. (PAFI);

Members: DOTC-Road Transport Program Management Office (DOTC-RTPMO), Land Transportation Office (LTO), Environmental Management Bureau (EMB), Metals Industry Research and Development Center (MIRDC), Industrial Technology Development Institute (ITDI), Philippine Council for Industry and Energy Research and Development (PCIERD), Philippine National Police-Development (PCIERD), Philippine National Police-Traffic Management Group (PNP-TMG), Safety Organization of the Philippines Inc. (SOPI), University of the Philippines-National Center for Transport Studies (UP-NCTS), Local Automotive Manufacturers and Assemblers, Chamber of Automotive Manufacturers Motor Vehicle Parts Manufacturer of the Phils., Inc., Association of the Phils. (MVPMAP), Motorcycle Development Program Participants Association (MDPPA), Truck Manufacturers Association (TMA), Philippine Association of Motorcycle importers and Assemblers, Inc. (PAMIA), and Motorcycle Parts Producers and Exporters Association (MCPPEA)

2. Sub-Committee on Certification and Regulations.

Chairman: Land Transportation Office LTO)

Co-Chairman: Environmental Management Bureau (EMB) Vice-Chairman: Philippine Automotive Federation Inc. (PAFI)

Members: Bureau of Product Standards (BPS), Bureau of Import Services (BIS), Energy Utilization Management Bureau (EUMB), Oil Industry Management Bureau (OIMB), Department of Transportation and Communications-Road Transport Program Management Office (DOTC-RTPMO), Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (LTFRB),