[OP EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 778, January 13, 2009]

TRANSFORMING THE COUNCIL FOR THE WELFARE OF CHILDREN INTO THE EARLY CHILDHOOD CARE AND DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL

WHEREAS, Republic Act (RA) No. 8980, also known as the Early Childhood Care and Development (ECCD) Act, promulgated a comprehensive policy and a national system for early ECCD, and provided funds therefore and for other purposes;

WHEREAS, the functions of the Council for the Welfare of Children have expanded to include not only its original functions under Presidential Decree No. 603 and Executive Order No. 233, series of 1988, but also that as National ECCD Coordinating Council, pursuant to Section 8 of RA 8980;

WHEREAS, there is a necessity to promote the welfare and benefits of young children aged 0 to 6 years, who are the principal beneficiaries of the ECCD Act, as well as to ensure that the objectives of the National ECCD System as defined by RA No. 9080 are achieved;

WHEREAS, Section 31, Chapter 10, Book III of the Administrative Code of 1987 grants the President the continuing authority to reorganize the Executive Branch of government;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, GLORIA M. ARROYO, President of the Republic of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby order:

SECTION 1. Transforming the Council for the Welfare of Children (CWC) into the Early Childhood Care and Development (ECCD) Council - The Council for the Welfare of Children is hereby transformed into the ECCD Council, attached to the Office of the President, which will support the implementation of the full range of health, nutrition, early education and social services programs that provide for the basic holistic needs of young children from birth to age six (6) and to promote their optimum growth and development.

SECTION 2. Composition of the Council - The ECCD shall be composed of the Governing Board and its Secretariat. The Governing Board shall be headed by a Chairperson (with the salary grade and emoluments of a Cabinet-rank Secretary) to be appointed by the President.

The following shall be members of the Governing Board:

Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) Department of Education