[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 335, January 04, 2001]

CONSTITUTING THE JOINT ENFORCEMENT AND MONITORING COMMITTEE TO IMPLEMENT THE PEACE AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE GOVERNMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES AND THE REBOLUSYONARYONG PARTIDO NG MANGGAGAWA SA PILIPINAS/REVOLUTIONARY PROLETARIAN ARMY/ALEX BONCAYAO BRIGADE

WHEREAS , a Peace Agreement was signed and executed on 06 December 2000 between the Government of the Republic of the Philippines (GRP) and the Rebolusyonaryong Partido ng Manggagawa sa Pilipinas/Revolutionary Proletarian Army/Alex Boncayao Brigade (RPM-P/RPA/ABB) on the basis of their mutual interest to pursue a peaceful settlement of the present armed conflict and hasten the progress and development of the country to equally enjoy the fruits thereof by all citizens of the Republic of the Philippines.

WHEREAS, the Peace Agreement provides for the release of political prisoners and for the dismissal of charges filed against RPM-P/RPA/ABB officers and members currently under prosecution and for them to reintegrate and join the civil society;

WHEREAS , the Peace Agreement also calls for the implementation by the GRP of various development projects such as livelihood, housing assistance, education and training, primary health care, agriculture and irrigation facilities, farm-to-market roads, post harvest facilities, micro-finance and credit programs, transport and hauling facilities, among others.

WHEREAS , the Peace Agreement also provides for the organization of a Joint Enforcement and Monitoring Committee to ensure and monitor the implementation of the provisions of the Peace Agreement, including the release of political prisoners and the implementation of various development projects to assist these released political prisoners.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, JOSEPH EJERCITO ESTRADA, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby order:

SECTION 1. Constitution of Committee. - The Joint Enforcement and Monitoring Committee is hereby composed of the following members:

- 1. Secretary Alexander P. Aguirre, representing the GRP
- 2. Undersecretary Anselmo S. Avenido Jr., representing the GRP
- 3. Ariel Sabandar, representing the RPM-P/RPA/ABB
- 4. Veronica Tabara, representing the RPM-P/RPA/ABB
- 5. The fifth member, who is of known integrity, impartiality, ability and patriotism, shall be chosen by representatives of both the GRP and the RPM-P/RPA/ABB.

The Committee shall form and organize a Secretariat to support them in the performance on their functions.