## [ EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 107, May 29, 2002 ]

## RECONSTITUTING THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE SOUTHERN PHILIPPINES DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES

WHEREAS, the Southern Philippines Development Authority was created by virtue of Presidential Decree No. 690 as amended by Presidential Decree No. 1703, to undertake essentially developmental and economically viable ventures within its territorial boundaries of operations in the Southern Philippines;

WHEREAS, the affairs and business of the Southern Philippines Development Authority is directed and its property managed and preserved by a Board of Directors;

WHEREAS, by virtue of Executive Order No. 13 dated August 17, 1998, the Southern Philippines Development Authority was attached to the Presidential Committee on Flagship Programs and Projects in the Office of the President;

WHEREAS, the Presidential Committee on Flagship Programs and Projects was abolished by virtue of Executive Order No. 72 dated February 11, 2002;

WHEREAS, the administrative regions in Mindanao have been reorganized pursuant to Executive Order No. 429 dated October 12, 1990, Republic Act No. 7901 as amended by Republic Act No. 8744, and Executive Order No. 36 dated September 19, 2001;

WHEREAS, there is a need to reconstitute the Board of Directors of the Southern Philippines Development Authority;

WHEREAS, there is also a need to provide for a Board of Advisors for the Southern Philippines Development Authority;

WHEREAS, under Section 31, Chapter 10, Title III, Book III of the Administrative Code of 1987, the President has the continuing authority to reorganize the administrative structure of the Office of the President.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, GLORIA MACAPAGAL-ARROYO, President of the Republic of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby order:

SECTION 1. *Reconstitution.* – The Board of Directors of the Southern Philippines Development Authority ("Authority") is hereby reconstituted and shall be composed of eleven (11) members as follows:

- a. Six (6) regular members to be appointed by the President of the Philippines; and
- b. The five (5) Chairmen of the Regional Development Councils of Regions IX, X, XI, XII and XIII, as *ex-officio* members.