[ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER NO. 48, February 10, 1999]

CONSTITUTING THE MAGLANCO AREA DEVELOPMENT AND COORDINATING COUNCIL

WHEREAS, it is government's policy to ensure that the implementation of development programs and projects is undertaken in a coordinated manner to provide maximum benefits to our people;

WHEREAS, the provinces of Maguindanao, Lanao del Norte, Lanao del Sur and Cotabato were beset by peace and order problems and other man-made disasters which hampered their growth and development;

WHEREAS, there is a need to implement a coordinated effort to accelerate the development of these areas and improve the living conditions of its people.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, JOSEPH EJERCITO ESTRADA, President of the Republic of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law and the Constitution, do hereby order:

- SEC. 1. CONSTITUTION OF THE MAGLANCO AREA DEVELOPMENT AND COORDINATING COUNCIL. There is hereby constituted a Maguindanao, Lanao del Norte, Lanao del Sur and Cotabato (MAGLANCO) Area Development and Coordinating Council for the integrated and synchronized implementation of special economic development projects and the afore-mentioned provinces, including the cities of Cotabato, Marawi and Iligan. The Central Mindanao Development Task Force created under Administrative Order No. 286 dated September 3, 1996, is hereby abolished.
- **SEC. 2. COMPOSITION OF THE COUNCIL.** The MAGLANCO Council shall be chaired by the Chairman of the Presidential Committee on Flagship Programs and Projects, with heads/representatives from the following agencies as members to be designated by their respective Secretaries:
 - a. Autonomous Region of Muslim Mindanao (ARMM);
 - b. Department of Public Works & Highways (DPWH);
 - c. Department of Interior Local Government (DILG);
 - d. Department of Agriculture (DA);
 - e. Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR);
 - f. Department of Energy (DOE);
 - g. Department of Trade and Industry (DTI);
 - h. Department of Environment & Natural Resources (DENR);
 - i. Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD);
 - j. Department of Transportation & Communication (DOTC);
 - k. Department of Budget & Management (DBM); and
 - I. Southern Philippines Development Authority (SPDA).