## PROTOCOL ON THE EXTENSION OF THE COOPERATION AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITY AND THE MEMBER COUNTRIES OF ASEAN TO THE SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF VIETNAM

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION, of the one part,

THE GOVERNMENT OF BRUNEI-DARUSSALAM,

THE GOVERNMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF INDONESIA,

THE GOVERNMENT OF MALAYSIA,

THE GOVERNMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES,

THE GOVERNMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF SINGAPORE,

THE GOVERNMENT OF THE KINGDOM OF THAILAND, and

THE GOVERNMENT OF THE SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF VIETNAM, of the other part,

HAVING REGARD to the Cooperation Agreement between the European Economic Community and Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand, member countries of the Association of South-East Asian Nations signed on 7 March 1980 in Kuala Lumpur, and extended to Brunei-Darussalam on 16 November 1984, hereinafter referred to as the "Agreement",

WHEREAS Vietnam as a new member of the Association of South-East Asian Nations has applied to accede to the Agreement,

HAVE DECIDED to extend the Agreement to Vietnam and this end have designated as their Plenipotentiaries:

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION:

HANS VAN MIERLO

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands, President-in-Office of the Council of the European Union

MANUEL MARIN

Vice-president of the Commission of the European Communities

THE GOVERNMENT OF BRUNEI-DARUSSALAM:

PRINCE MOHAMED BOLKIAH Minister of Foreign Affairs

THE GOVERNMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF INDONESIA: