[OP MEMORANDUM ORDER NO. 143, July 09, 2004]

AUTHORIZING CERTAIN OFFICIALS TO SIGN "BY AUTHORITY OF THE PRESIDENT" DECISIONS, RESOLUTIONS AND ORDERS OF APPEALED CASES IN THE OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

WHEREAS, this Government is founded on good governance which includes the speedy administration of justice;

WHEREAS, in order to ensure and maintain immediate disposition of cases appealed to the Office of the President, it is necessary to designate senior officials to focus on the resolution of these cases and to authorize them to sign resolutions and decisions related thereto;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, GLORIA MACAPAGAL-ARROYO, President of the Republic of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby order as follows:

- 1. The following senior officials in the Office of the President (OP) are hereby directed to focus on the review and resolution of decisions, resolutions, order or actions of departments, agencies and offices elevated to the Office of the President for review and final administrative resolution.
 - a. Senior Deputy Executive Secretary Waldo Q. Flores
 - b. Deputy Executive Secretary for Legal Affairs Manuel B. Gaite
 - c. Presidential Assistant Manuel C. Domingo
 - d. Undersecretary Enrique D. Perez
 - e. Assistant Executive Secretary Edwin R. Enrile

The Executive Secretary shall designate from among the foregoing officials the administrative coordinator of the team.

- 2. For this purpose, the officials designated in Section 1 hereof shall have the authority to sign "By authority of the President" decisions, resolutions and orders:
 - a. Affirming *in toto* the decisions, resolutions, or orders of departments, agencies or offices:
 - b. Denying/dismissing motions for reconsideration of previous Office of the President decisions which affirmed *in toto* the decisions, resolutions, or orders of departments,