[MTC RESOLUTION NO. 2, S. 2010, March 05, 2010]

AMENDING PERTINENT PROVISION OF MTC RESOLUTION NO. 04, SERIES OF 2008

WHEREAS, MTC Resolution No. 04, Series of 2008, entitled "Guidelines in the Recognition of Assessment of Seafarers' Competence by the Accredited Maritime Training Centers for the Issuance of Certificate of Proficiency by the Maritime Training Council", was approved by the Council on 30 July 2008;

WHEREAS, the above Resolution recognizes the MTC-accredited maritime training center to conduct assessment of their trainees for the issuance of the certificate of proficiency by the Maritime Training Council to declog the big number of applicants at the National Assessment Center;

WHEREAS, the above Guidelines does not clearly specify that the training center may accept trainees for assessment whose training was conducted from other accredited maritime training center;

WHEREAS, there is need for those trainees to go to recognized assessment center for assessment instead of going directly to the National Assessment Center at the MTC Secretariat;

NOW, THEREFORE, the Council resolves as it is hereby resolved that the provision below be added to Section 13 (Transitory Provision) of the above Resolution, to read as:

"Section 13.3 Recognized assessment centers are also allowed to accept for assessment the trainees whose training was conducted by other authorized training centers provided that the training course has been completed within the period of five (5) years."

RESOLVED FURTHER that the MTC Secretariat shall issue the necessary Guidelines for the implementation of this Resolution.

This Resolution shall take effect immediately.

(SGD.) ROMEO C. LAGMAN

Department of Labor and Employment

Presiding Chair, Maritime Training Council

(SGD.) NICOLAS P. LAPENA, JR. Chairperson, Professional Regulation Commission (PRC)

(SGD.) CARMELITA S. DIMZON (SC Administrator, Overseas Worker

(SGD.) JENNIFER J. MANALILI

Administrator, Philippine

Overseas

Employment Administration (POEA)

(SGD.) EMMANUEL Y. ANGELES

Chairman, Commission on