[MEMORANDUM ORDER NO. 09, December 02, 2016]

DESIGNATING THE SECRETARY OF ENERGY AND THE SECRETARY OF INFORMATION AND COMMUNICATIONS TECHNOLOGY AS MEMBERS OF THE ASEAN NATIONAL ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

WHEREAS, pursuant to Article 31, Chapter X of the ASEAN Charter, the Philippines has assumed the Chairmanship of the ASEAN Summit for 2017;

WHEREAS, Administrative Order (AO) No. 48 (s.2015) created the ASEAN-NOC and tasked it, among others, to perform all acts that will ensure the success of the hosting;

WHEREAS, the Secretary of Transportation is a member of the ASEAN-NOC tasked to chair the Committee on Transport and Communications which shall ensure the availability, efficiency, and security, in coordination with the Security Committee, of all transportation and telecommunications requirements for the ASEAN 2017 hosting, and facilitate the safe and secure movement of persons, cargo, and equipment in all the activities of the ASEAN 2017 hosting;

WHEREAS, AO No. 48 created the Infrastructure Committee which shall direct the overall maintenance of all ASEAN Conference facilities and critical infrastructure, including the availability of energy services;

WHEREAS, Republic Act No. 10844 renamed the Department of Transportation and Communications into the Department of Transportation (DOTr), and created the Department of Information and Communications Technology (DICT), which has authority to formulate, recommend and implement national policies, plans, programs and guidelines that will promote the development and use of information and communication technology;

WHEREAS, Section 27, Chapter 9, Title III, Book III of Executive Order No. 292, otherwise known as the "Administrative Code of 1987," empowers the Executive Secretary to implement presidential directives, orders and decisions.

NOW THEREFORE, I, SALVADOR C. MEDIALDEA, by authority and order of the President, do hereby declare the following:

SECTION 1. The DICT Secretary and the DOE Secretary shall be members of the ASEAN-NOC. The DICT Secretary shall sit as the co-chairperson of the Committee on Transport and Communications and the DOE Secretary shall be a member of the Infrastructure Committee.

SECTION 2. Effectivity – This Order shall take effect immediately.