[MEMORANDUM CIRCULAR NO. 78, June 25, 2020]

REPEALING MEMORANDUM CIRCULAR NO. 11 (S. 2010) AND DIRECTING THE TRANSFER OF REGIONAL OFFICES OF NATIONAL GOVERNMENT AGENCIES IN REGION IX FROM ZAMBOANGA CITY TO PAGADIAN CITY PURSUANT TO EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 429 (S. 1990)

WHEREAS, to guarantee the effective delivery of the field services of government employees. Executive Order (EO) No. 429 (s, 1990) reorganized the administrative regions of Mindanao and designated Pagadian City as the regional government center and Zamboanga City as the commercial and industrial center of Region IX;

WHEREAS, pursuant to EO No. 429, Memorandum Circular (MC) No. 75 (s. 2004) directed all regiona! offices of all departments and agencies of the National Government to transfer from Zamboanga City to Pagadian City, except the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI), Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE) and Department of Tourism (DOT), which shall all remain in Zamboanga City, but shall establish presence in Pagadian City;

WHEREAS, MC No. 11 (s. 2010), as amended, imposed a moratorium on the transfer of regional offices from Zamboanga City to Pagadian City and directed that a study be conducted on the economic and social costs thereof;

WHEREAS, the National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA) Board Regional Development Committee has determined that the designation of Pagadian City increased the accessibility to the public of the regional government center, and fostered inclusive growth which resulted in economic vibrancy for the rest of the region; and

WHEREAS, the designations of Pagadian City as the regional government center and Zamboanga City as the commercial and industrial center of Region IX are consistent with the 10 Point Socioeconomic Agenda of the Administration to accelerate rural development, as well as the development strategy espoused in the Regiona! Spatial Development Framework 2016 to 2045 approved by the NEDA - Regiona! Development Council (RDC) IX;

NOW, **THEREFORE**, the following are hereby ordered:

Section 1. The moratorium on the transfer of regional offices from Zamboanga City to Pagadian City, imposed under MC No. 11. as amended, is hereby lifted.

Section 2. The remaining regional offices of all departments and agencies of the National Government in Region IX situated in Zamboanga City, or wherever they are currently located, are hereby ordered to transfer to Pagadian City, except those of the DTI, DOLE and DOT, which shall remain in Zamboanga City, but shall establish presence in Pagadian City. The transfer of these agencies, to be supervised by the