[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 266, September 24, 1949]

ORGANIZING THE BARRIO OF TUNGA, MUNICIPALITY OF BARUGO, PROVINCE OF LEYTE, INTO AN INDEPENDENT MUNICIPALITY UNDER THE NAME OF TUNGA.

Upon the recommendation of the Secretary of the Interior and pursuant to the provisions of section 68 of the Revised Administrative Code, the barrio of Tunga and the sitios of Balire, Naliwatan (Barugo), Palinki, and Upat and the southern parts of the sitios of Busawon and Pasacay, all of the municipality of Barugo, Province of Leyte, are hereby organized into an independent municipality, under the name of Tunga, with the seat of government at the barrio of Tunga.

The boundary between the municipalities of Tunga and Barugo shall be as follows:

Starting from Sagkahan extension point, on the Barago-Carigara boundary, running straight in an easterly direction to a point immediately north of the culvert bridge on the Carigara-Barugo-Jaro road; thence northeasterly in a straight line to Caracnayon bridge on the Tunga-Barugo municipal road; thence easterly in a straight-line to a point immediately north of the center of Sitio Upat; thence southeasterly in a straight line to the intersection of Bunawang River with the Barugo-Jaro boundary line. (Data used in this description based on the map of the municipality of Barugo and the proposed municipality of Tunga, submitted by the petitioners.)

The municipality of Barugo shall have its present territory minus the portion thereof included in the proposed municipality.

The municipality of Tunga shall begin to exist upon the appointment and qualification of the mayor, vice-mayor, and a majority of the councilors thereof.

Done in the City of Manila, this 24th day of September, in the year of Our Lord, nineteen hundred and forty-nine, and of the Independence of the Philippines, the fourth.

(SGD.) **ELPIDIO QUIRINO** *President of the Philippines*

By the President: (SGD.) **TEODORO EVANGELISTA** *Executive Secretary*