[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 271, September 29, 1949]

CREATING CERTAIN PORTIONS OF THE MUNICIPALITIES OF BILIRAN AND CAIBIRAN, PROVINCE OF LEYTE, INTO AN INDEPENDENT MUNICIPALITY UNDER THE NAME OF CABUCGAYAN.

Upon the recommendation of the Secretary of the Interior, and pursuant to the provisions of section 68 of the Revised Administrative Code, there is hereby created in the Province of Leyte a municipality to be known as the municipality of Cabucgayan, which shall consist of certain portions of the municipalities of Biliran and Caibiran, same province, more particularly described and bounded as follows:

"On the north, by a straight line running westerly from a point at the peak of Mt. Lauan to the mouth of Asug Brook at Carigara Bay; on the east and south, by the limits of the municipal waters which the municipality of Cabucgayan shall have pursuant to the provisions of section 2321 of the Revised Administrative Code; and on the west, by the course of the Manlauan River to its source; and by a straight line running from this source to the point on the peak of Mt. Lauan, mentioned above."

The municipality of Cabucgayan, as herein organized, contains the following barrios: Cabucgayan, the seat of the municipal government, Balaquid, Bunga, Pawiean, and Talibong.

The municipality of Biliran shall have its present territory minus the portion thereof included in the municipality of Cabucgayan.

The municipality of Caibiran shall have its present territory minus the portion thereof included in the municipality of Cabucgayan.

The municipality of Cabucgayan as herein organized shall begin to exist on November 15, 1949.

Done in the City of Manila, this 29th day of September, in the year of Our Lord, nineteen hundred and forty-nine, and of the Independence of the Philippines, the fourth.

(SGD.) **ELPIDIO QUIRINO** *President of the Philippines*

By the President: (SGD.) **TEODORO EVANGELISTA** *Executive Secretary*