## [ EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 297, May 14, 1958 ]

## **CREATING A COUNCIL OF STATE**

By virtue of the powers vested in me by law, I, Carlos P. Garcia, President of the Philippines, do hereby create a Council of State whose duty shall be to advise the President on such matters of public policy as he may from time to time lay before it.

The Council of State shall be composed of the following:

- 1. The Vice-President
- 2. The President of the Senate
- 3. The Speaker of the House of Representatives
- 4. The Members of the Cabinet with portfolios
- 5 The President Protempore of the Senate
- 6. The Speaker Protempore of the House of Representatives
- 7. The Majority Floor Leader of the Senate
- 8. The Majority Floor Leader of the House of Representatives
- 9. The Chairman of the National Economic Council who is concurrently Coordinator of U. S. Aid and Philippine Counterpart Funds
- 10. The President, Governors and City Mayors League of the Philippines
- 11. The Commissioner of the Budget
- 12. Hon. Sergio Osmeña, Sr.
- 13. Gen. Emilio Aguinaldo
- 14. Hon. Jose P. Laurel
- 15. Hon. Claro M. Recto
- 16. Hon. Cornelio T. Villareal

and such other persons as the President may appoint from time to time.

Done in the City of Manila, this 14th day of May, in the year of Our Lord, nineteen hundred and fifty-eight, and of the Independence of the Philippines, the twelfth.

(Sgd.) **CARLOS P. GARCIA** President of the Philippines

By the President: (Sgd.) **JUAN C. PAJO** Executive Secretary



Source: Supreme Court E-Library This page was dynamically generated by the E-Library Content Management System (E-LibCMS)