[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 183, May 06, 1969]

CREATING THE NATIONAL FOOD AND AGRICULTURE COUNCIL

WHEREAS, in view of the success in achieving self-sufficiency in rice and corn, the government has launched a national program on food sufficiency;

WHEREAS, the Rice and Corn Production Coordinating Council, the agency responsible for the breakthrough in rice and corn sufficiency, cannot effectively implement the over-all program of food self-sufficiency because of its limited scope, jurisdiction, and authority;

WHEREAS, without a unifying authority, the working together of several government agencies with interrelated functions and activities will eventually lead to duplication, confusion, and unintegrated measures which will frustrate government efforts toward the attainment of self-sufficiency in food commodities;

WHEREAS, there is an urgent need for a coordinating agency that shall oversee, unify and integrate the administration and implementation of the government's good self-sufficiency program.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FERDINAND E. MARCOS, President of the Republic of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby create the National Food and Agriculture Council under the Office of the President composed of the following officials who shall attend in person the meetings and deliberations of said body:

- 1. The Secretary, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources Chairman
- 2. Executive Secretary Rafael M. Salas Action Officer
- 3. The Chairman-General Manager, Rice and Corn Administration
- 4. The Director, Bureau of Plant Industry
- 5. The Commissioner, Agricultural Productivity Commission
- 6. The Director, Bureau of Soils
- 7. The Dean, College of Agriculture, U.P.
- 8. The Director, Bureau of Animal Industry
- 9. The Commissioner, Philippine Fisheries Commission
- 10. The Commissioner, Budget Commission
- 11. The Chairman, National Land Reform Council
- 12. The Administrator, Agricultural Credit Administration
- 13. The Secretary, Presidential Arm on Community Development
- 14. The Governor, Central Bank of the Philippines
- 15. The President, Philippine National Bank
- 16. The Chairman, Development Bank of the Philippines
- 17. The Administrator, National Irrigation Administration
- 18. The Administrator, Irrigation Service Unit