Source: www.officialgazette.gov.ph

[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 510, October 16, 1978]

CREATING COMMITTEES IN CONNECTION WITH THE HOSTING BY THE PHILIPPINES OF THE 35TH SESSION OF THE ECONOMIC AND SOCIAL COMMISSION FOR ASIA AND THE PACIFIC (ESCAP)

WHEREAS, the Philippine Government has offered to host, and which offer has been accepted, the 35th Session of the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP) to be held in Manila from 5 to 16 March 1979;

WHEREAS, the Philippine Government attaches great importance to the Conference which will consider vital questions of development, affecting particularly the developing countries;

WHEREAS, it is extremely important that such a meeting is efficiently organized and that all agencies concerned, governmental and non-governmental, should cooperate and coordinate with one another to ensure its success;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FERDINAND E. MARCOS, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby order the creation of the following Committees for the 35th Session of ESCAP in order that the meeting may be organized and run efficiently:

1. Committee on Substantive Matters

The Permanent Inter-Agency Technical Committee on ESCAP Matters created under NEDA Memorandum Order 20-76 is hereby designated as the Committee on Substantive Matters. The Committee on Substantive Matters shall be responsible for the technical and substantive work preparatory to and during the conference proper.

2. Committee on Conference Arrangements

This Committee shall be in-charge of preparations for conference facilities and services. The Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs shall be the Chairman, the Deputy Director- General of the National Economic and Development Authority as Co-Chairman, and the Assistant Minister for United Nations Affairs and International Conferences, Ministry of Foreign Affairs as Vice-Chairman. The representatives of the Central Bank, Ministry of Public Information, Ministry of Public Works, Transportation and Communications, Bureau of Customs, Ministry of Tourism, Metro Manila Commission, National Media Production Center, Land Transportation Commission, Budget Commission, Ministry of Social Services and Development, Philippine International Convention Center, Presidential Security Command and Immigration Commission shall serve as members of this Committee.

The Chairman of each Committee is hereby empowered to request any agency or instrumentality of the Philippine Government to assist in the discharge of the