Source: www.officialgazette.gov.ph

[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 584, March 22, 1980]

RECONSTITUTING THE BOARD OF CENSORS FOR MOTION PICTURES.

WHEREAS, it is the avowed policy of the government to protect the people against the introduction and exhibition of motion pictures which are deemed immoral, indecent, contrary to law, good customs or injuries to the prestige of the Republic of the Philippines or its people;

WHEREAS, a Board of Censors for Motion Pictures was created under R.A. No. 3060 to carry out the objectives of this policy;

WHEREAS, since 1976 an Interim Board of Censors has been conducting the affairs of the Board;

WHEREAS, there is a need to reconstitute a Board of Censors for Motion Pictures in order to provide multi-sector and broader perspective for the review of motion pictures; and

WHEREAS, under Presidential Decree No. 1416, the President is empowered to undertake such organizational and relative improvements as may be appropriate in the light of changing circumstances and new development;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FERDINAND E. MARCOS, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by the Constitution and pursuant to the authority vested in me by Presidential Decree No. 1416, do hereby order and ordain:

SECTION 1. The Board of Censors for Motion Pictures is hereby reconstituted to be composed of one chairman, three vice-chairmen and twenty-four members. The Chairman, the three vice-chairmen and nineteen members of the Board shall be appointed by the President of the Philippines. The other five members of the Board shall be senior officials of the Ministry of Justice, Ministry of Education and Culture, Ministry of National Defense, Ministry of Public Information and of the National Intelligence and Security Authority (NISA). They shall be designated by the respective ministers and by the Director-General in the case of the NISA representative.

The chairman shall serve for a term of four years. The vice-chairman and the members first appointed by the President shall hold office as follows: one vice-chairman and seven members for two years, one vice-chairman and six members for three years, and one vice-chairman and the other six members for four years, and thereafter, the term of Office of the vice-chairman and the appointive members shall all be for four years. If the chairman, or any of the vice-chairmen or appointive members fails to complete his term of office, the person appointed to fill the vacancy in the Board shall serve only for the unexpired term of the members he