Source: www.officialgazette.gov.ph

[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 685, May 05, 1981]

CHANGING THE TITLE OF THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR TO ADMINISTRATOR AND RECONSTITUTION OF THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS OF THE NATIONAL COAL AUTHORITY AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES

WHEREAS, the National Coal Authority was created by virtue of Presidential No. 1722 as a central government authority to accelerate the development and utilization of coal as an alternative source of power in the country pursuant to the government's thrust towards energy self-sufficiency;

WHEREAS, to attain these objectives, it is imperative to reconstitute the present membership of the Board of Governors of the National Coal Authority in order to include the Minister of Transportation and Communications as ex officio member in lieu of one other member to be appointed by the President of the Philippines from the private sector without any change in the present membership of the Board;

WHEREAS, it is necessary to change the title of the Executive Director to that of the "Administrator" of the National Coal Authority to truly reflect the nature of his functions;

WHEREAS, the present requirements of the National Coal Authority strongly indicate the need to further define its powers and functions;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FERDINAND E. MARCOS, President of the Philippines, pursuant to the powers vested in me by law and the Constitution, do hereby order the following:

SECTION 1. The title of the Executive Director of the National Coal Authority is hereby changed to "Administrator." He shall be the Chief Executive Officer of the National Coal Authority and shall perform his functions and responsibilities under the administrative supervision and control of the Chairman of the Board of Governors.

SECTION 2. The Minister of Transportation and Communication is hereby designated as ex officio member of the Board of Governors of the National Coal Authority in lieu of the member to be appointed by the President of the Philippines from the private sector. Accordingly, the Board of Governors of the National Coal Authority shall be composed of the Minister of Energy as ex officio Chairman, the Minister of Industry, the Minister of Natural Resources, the Minister of the Budget, and the Minister of Transportation and Communications as ex officio members.

SECTION 3. In addition to the powers and functions of the National Coal Authority provided in Presidential Decree No. 1722, the Authority shall also exercise the following powers: