[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 33, November 18, 1992]

AMENDING SECTIONS 1 AND 2 OF EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 115, S. 1986 ENTITLED "REORGANIZING THE NATIONAL SECURITY COUNCIL AND DEFINING ITS MEMBERSHIP, FUNCTION, AND AUTHORITY AND OTHER PURPOSES"

WHEREAS, the restoration of political stability and the enhancement of economic development are interdependent, requiring the active participation and support of all branches of government and all sectors of society;

WHEREAS, there is a need for a mechanism to enhance coordination between the executive and the legislative branches in the formulation and integration of policies affecting national security;

WHEREAS, the National Security Council as presently constituted is limited to the members of the executive department;

WHEREAS, there is a need to expand the membership of the National Security Council to meet the increasing needs and requirements of the national leadership for reliable information and competent advice coming from a broader segment of society;

WHEREAS, under the Administrative Code of 1987, the President has the continuing authority to reorganize agencies or units under the Office of the President;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FIDEL V. RAMOS, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby order and direct:

SECTION 1. Section 1 of Executive Order No. 115 is hereby amended to read as follows:

"SECTION. 1. The National Security Council (hereinafter referred to as the NSC) is hereby reorganized. It shall henceforth be composed of the following:

- 1. President as Chairman;
- 2. Vice-President;
- 3. Senate President;
- 4. Speaker of the House of Representatives;
- 5. Senate President Pro-Tempore;
- 6. Speaker Pro-Tempore;
- 7. Majority Floor Leader of the Senate;
- 8. Majority Floor Leader of the House;
- 9. Minority Floor Leader of the Senate;
- 10. Minority Floor Leader of the House;
- 11. Chairman, Senate Committee on Foreign Relations;