## [ EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 102, June 18, 1993 ]

## CREATING THE METRO NAGA DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL

WHEREAS, the City of Naga and the Municipalities of Bombon, Calabanga, Camaligan, Canaman, Gainza, Magarao, Milaor, Minalabac, Pamplona, Pasacao, Pili, and San Fernando, all of the Province of Camarines Sur, have organized themselves into the Metro Naga Development Council;

WHEREAS, the Metro Naga Development Council seeks to consolidate and coordinate the efforts and resources of Naga City and its neighboring municipalities, following an integrated area development framework, to provide adequate social services, promote employment and improve the quality of life of the people in the area;

WHEREAS, such initiative by Naga City and its neighboring municipalities is supportive of the national policy on local autonomy and countryside development and thus deserves utmost support from the national government; and

WHEREAS, Section 14, Article X of the Constitution provides that the "President shall provide for regional development councils or other similar bodies composed of local government officials, regional heads of departments and other government offices, and representatives from non-governmental organizations within the regions for purposes of administrative decentralization to strengthen the autonomy of the units therein and to accelerate the economic and social growth and development of the units in the region."

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FIDEL V. RAMOS, President of the Republic of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by the Constitution and by law, do hereby order.

Section 1. The Metro Naga Development Council, hereinafter referred to as the Council, is hereby created. The Council shall formulate, coordinate and monitor programs, projects and activities for the acceleration of the economic and social growth and development of the City of Naga, the Municipalities of Bombon, Calabanga, Camaligan, Canaman, Gainza, Magarao, Milaor, Minalabac, Pamplona, Pasucao, Pili, and San Fernando, all of the Province of Camarines Sur, in coordination with the Governor of the Province of Camarines Sur who shall act as Adviser to the Council.

Section 2. The Council shall be composed of the following members:

(a) The Mayors of Naga City and the Municipalities of Bombon, Calabanga, Camaligan, Canaman, Gainza, Magarao, Milaor, Minalabac, Pamplona, Pasacao, Pili, and San Fernando, all of the Province of Camarines Sur;