[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 348, August 11, 2004]

CREATING THE OFFICE OF THE COMMUNICATIONS DIRECTOR TO DIRECT THE OPERATIONS OF OFFICES IN THE PUBLIC SECTOR MASS MEDIA AND THE PUBLIC INFORMATION SYSTEM OF THE GOVERNMENT.

WHEREAS, the task of informing and communicating to the public the policies, programs, achievements and activities of the Presidency and the Executive Branch involves several offices and agencies, each functioning in accordance with their respective mandates;

WHEREAS, there is a need for an office to coordinate and streamline the functional operations of these offices and agencies charged with public relations, public information, and news and information dissemination relative to the Presidency and the administration;

WHEREAS, under Section 31, Chapter 10, Title III, Book III of the Administrative Code of 1987, the President has the continuing authority to reorganize the administration structure of the Office of the President.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, GLORIA MACAPAGAL-ARROYO, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby order:

SECTION 1. There is hereby created the Office of the Communications Director (OCD), to be headed by a Communications Director who shall have the rank of Secretary, to coordinate the dissemination, through the mass media, of policies, programs, achievements, reports and activities of the President and the administration.

SECTION 2. In addition to its primary functions, the OCD shall:

- a. Systematize the various functions of different offices and agencies involved in information dissemination to ensure message consistency and integration; b. Rationalize and strengthen public relations and communications structures in the Office of the President and the Office of the Press Secretary (OPS); c. Improve teamwork and cohesion between and among groups, offices and agencies covered by the Executive Order,namely:
 - I. The OPS and the bureaus and agencies under or attached to it; II. The Philippine Information Agency (PIA) and agencies under or attached to it; III. The Correspondence Office; IV. The Speech Writers Group; V. The Communications Research Group; and VI. The Government-owned Media Group.