[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 229-A, October 31, 2005]

AMENDING EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 229 DATED JULY 21, 2003 ON THE COMPOSITION OF THE MINDANAO PEACE AND DEVELOPMENT FUND BOARD OF DIRECTORS

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. 229 dated July 21, 2003 (EO 229) established the Mindanao Peace and Development Fund (MPDF) under the Office of the President that shall have as its coverage and target beneficiaries disadvantaged conflict-affected and influenced communities in Mindanao outside the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM), and shall be managed by a Board of Directors ("Board") to be appointed by the President;

WHEREAS, among the members of the MPDF Board to be appointed by the President are the Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process, the Director General of the National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA), and the Chairman of the Mindanao Economic and Development Council, among others;

WHEREAS, the issuance of an appointment by the President to the Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process, the NEDA Director General and the Chairman of the Mindanao Economic and Development Council as members of the MPDF Board is no longer necessary considering that they sit as ex-officio members thereof and pursuant to the exercise of the primary functions of their office;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, GLORIA MACAPAGAL-ARROYO, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby order:

SECTION 1. Amendment. Section 3 of Executive Order No. 229, dated July 21, 2003 is hereby amended to read, as follows:

- " SECTION 3. Composition of the Board . The MPDF shall be managed by a Board of Directors composed of the following:
- 1. Three (3) ex-officio members:
- a. Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process;
- b. Director General of the National Economic and Development Authority;
- c. Chairman of the Mindanao Economic Development Council; and
- 2. Six (6) members to be appointed by the President of the Philippines.

The President shall designate from among the Board members a Chairman and Vice-Chairman. The Chairman shall preside at meetings of the Board, while the Vice-Chairman shall act as chair in the absence of the Chairman.

The six (6) members of the Board who are not from government agencies shall receive a per diem of Ten Thousand Pesos (P10,000.00) each for every meeting actually attended by them; Provided, That the total amount of Per diem that any