[ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER NO. 221, November 14, 1953]

DESIGNATING THE NATIONAL RIZAL DAY COMMITTEE

Whereas, the 57th anniversary of the martyrdom of our greatest hero and patriot, Jose Rizal, falls on December 30, 1953;

Now, therefore, I, Elpidio Quirino, President of .the Philippines, do hereby call upon all the people to observe this year's anniversary of Rizal's death with appropriate ceremonies designed to arouse greater devotion to his ideals.

I hereby designate the National Rizal Day Committee composed of the following:

1. Hon. Placido L. Mapa	Chairman
•	
2. Hon. Asuncion Perez	Member
3. Hon. Aurelio Quitoriano	Member
4. Hon. Roberto A. Gianzon	Member
5. Dr. Vidal A. Tan	Member
6. Hon. Teodoro Evangelista	Member
7. Dr. Herminio Velarde	Member
8. Mr. Prudencio Langcauon	Member
9. Mr. Gabriel Daza	Member
10. Mr. Lauro G. Marquez	Member
11. Mr. Mariano del Rosario	Member
12. Mr. V. Lontok	Executive
	Secretary

to make all arrangements necessary for the fitting celebration of the day all over the Philippines and secure the cooperation of all government and private instrumentalities to insure its success.

Done in the City of Manila, this 14th day of November, in the year of Our Lord, nineteen hundred and fifty-three, and of the Independence of the Philippines, the eighth.

(Sgd.) ELPIDIO QUIRINO

President of the Philippines

By the President:

(Sgd.) MARCIANO ROQUE

Acting Executive Secretary