[ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER NO. 8, December 16, 1986]

DESIGNATING THE RIZAL DAY NATIONAL COMMITTEE

WHEREAS, the 90th Death Anniversary of Jose Rizal on December 30, 1986 falls in the year when our nation overthrew through a peaceful and democratic process the tyranny of an oppressive dictatorship;

WHEREAS, it is fitting that all officials and citizens of the Republic render tribute to the ideals and noble cause embodied in the life and martyrdom of our national hero and patriot;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, CORAZON C. AQUINO, President of the Republic of the Philippines, call upon all our people to observe this anniversary with the most appropriate ceremonies and programs expressive of the nation's highest homage and gratitude.

I hereby designate the Rizal Day National Committee composed of the following:

Lourdes Quisumbing, Minister of Education Culture and Sports	Chairperson
Hon. Alberto G. Romulo, Minister of the Budget Hon. Teodoro Benigno, Press Secretary	Member Member
Hon. Juanito Ferrer, Deputy Minister of Public Works and Highways	Member
Hon. Ciriaco Alfelor, Deputy Minister of Local Government	Member
Karina David, Deputy Minister of Social Services and Development	Member
Miguel Perez-Rubio, Chief Presidential Protocol Officer Hon. Jose Lina, Governor of Metro Manila	Member- Secretary Member
Hon. Gemiliano Lopez, Jr. Mayor of Manila	Member
Simeon C. Medalla, Supreme Commander of the Knights of Rizal	Member
Trinidad Gomez, President of the Civic Assembly of Women of the Philippines	Member
Mr. Serafin Quiason, Jr., Chairman of the National Historical Institute	Member
Mr. Orlando Mercado, Chairman of the National Park Development Committee	Member
Mr. Teodoro Locsin, Sr	Member

to organize and effect all arrangements necessary for the appropriate celebration of the day all over the Philippines and secure the cooperation of all government and private instrumentalities to ensure its success. The Committee may create such subcommittees as may be necessary.