[ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER NO. 253, February 12, 1996]

CREATING AN EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE TO OVERSEE THE PHILIPPINE HOSTING OF THE 20TH SESSION OF THE INTERNATIONAL TROPICAL TIMBER COUNCIL (ITCC) TO BE HELD FROM 15 TO 23 MAY 1996

WHEREAS, the Philippines has been an active member of the International Tropical Timber Organization (ITTO) since its accession to the 1983 International Tropical Timber Agreement (ITTA);

WHEREAS, continued membership in the ITTO will provide an effective framework for consultation to promote non-discriminatory timber trade practices as well as the expansion and diversification of international trade in tropical timber from sustainable sources. It will also improve the market intelligence and information sharing for greater transparency in the international timber market, and promote increased and further processing of tropical timber from sustainable sources;

WHEREAS, as member of the ITTO, the Philippines is scheduled to host the 20th Session of the International Tropical Timber Council from 15 to 23 May 1996;

WHEREAS, there is a need for a Committee to oversee the physical arrangements and technical preparations necessary for the said Conference;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FIDEL V. RAMOS, President of the Republic of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby order:

SECTION 1. Creation of an Executive Committee. An Executive Committee, hereinafter referred to as the "Committee", is hereby created to oversee the physical arrangements and technical preparations for the Philippine hosting of the 20th Session of the International Tropical Timber Council.

SEC. 2. Composition. The Committee shall be co-chaired by the Secretary of Environment and Natural Resources and the Secretary of Foreign Affairs with the following as Members:

- 1. Undersecretary, Department of Tourism (DOT)
- 2. President, Philippine Wood Producers Association (PWPA)
- 3. Undersecretary, Department of Science and Technology (DOST)
- 4. Undersecretary, Department of Finance (DOF)
- 5. Undersecretary, Department of Justice (DOJ)
- 6. Undersecretary, Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH)
- 7. Undersecretary, Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG)
- 8. General Manager, Ninoy Aguino International Airport (NAIA)
- 9. Director, Philippine Convention and Visitors Corporation (PCVC)

SEC. 3. Functions. The Committee shall have the following duties and functions: