[ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER NO. 374, January 13, 1998]

CONSTITUTING A NATIONAL COMMITTEE FOR THE COMMEMORATION OF THE TWELFTH ANNIVERSARY OF THE FEBRUARY 22-25, 1986 EDSA REVOLUTION

WHEREAS, the February 22-25 EDSA Revolution restored democratic institutions and ushered meaningful political, social and economic reforms in the country;

WHEREAS, the triumph of this Revolution was anchored upon People Power, the spontaneous teamwork in seeking to transform Philippine society and chart a new course for the nation by linking arms and courageously asserting our democratic rights;

WHEREAS, the Filipinos astounded the world with feats of valor at EDSA, showing other captive people the way towards a democratic revolution of our time, thereby winning the respect and admiration of the world; and

WHEREAS, this year marks the celebration of the centennial of the Philippine Revolution, the revolution that served as our inspiration and root of that same spirit that brought the EDSA Revolution into triumph;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FIDEL V. RAMOS, President of the Republic of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law do hereby order:

SECTION 1. *Constitution of a National Committee.* There is hereby constituted a National Committee for the Commemoration of the 12th Anniversary of the February 22-25, 1986 EDSA Revolution which shall be Chaired by a private sector representative and Co-Chaired by the Secretary of the Department of National Defense, the Secretary of the Department of the Interior and Local Government, and the Administrator, Livelihood Corporation. The Secretary of the Department of Tourism is hereby designated as Vice-Chairperson, with three Co-Vice-Chairpersons from the private sector. The National Committee shall have twenty (20) members from the private sector and the following from the government sector:

- 1. Secretary, Department of Agrarian Reform
- 2. Secretary, Department of Trade and Industry
- 3. Secretary, Department of Foreign Affairs
- 4. Secretary, Department of Budget and Management
- 5. Secretary, Department of Finance
- 6. Secretary, Department of Labor and Employment
- 7. Secretary, Department of Education, Culture and Sports
- 8. Chairman, Metropolitan Manila Development Authority
- 9. Chairman, Commission on Higher Education
- 10. Cabinet Officer for Regional Development National Capital Region
- 11. Chairperson, National Youth Commission
- 12. Acting Head, Presidential Management Staff