## [ ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER NO. 124, June 02, 2000 ]

## **CREATING A JOINT COMMISSION ON STREET WATCH**

**WHEREAS,** Street Watch is a community-based crime prevention program involving the participation of the citizenry and the government;

**WHEREAS,** there is a need to strengthen the collaborative efforts between government and the citizenry in the fight against criminality and maintenance of peace and order;

**WHEREAS,** the Foundation for Crime Prevention (FCP) serves as the private sector arm and partner of the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) in the implementation of a crime prevention program named Street Watch.

**WHEREAS,** there is a need for a policy making body that will oversee the implementation of the Street Watch Program and ensure the support and participation of the private sector in crime prevention.

**NOW, THEREFORE, I, JOSEPH EJERCITO ESTRADA,** President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law and the Constitution, do hereby order the following:

**SECTION 1.** <u>Creation of a Joint Commission on Street Watch</u>. There is hereby created a Joint Commission on Street Watch which shall serve as the policy making body and oversee the implementation of the Street Watch crime prevention program.

**SECTION 2.** <u>*Composition of the Joint Commission*</u>. The Joint Commission shall be composed of eleven (11) members in the aggregate:

- (a) Secretary of the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG), two (2) nominees from the DILG designated by the DILG Secretary, and the Governor of Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas.
- (b) The Chairman and the President of the Foundation for Crime Prevention (FCP) and two (2) nominees from the FCP designated by the Board of Trustees of the FCP.
- (c) Heads of the Philippine Chamber of Commerce and Industry (PCCI), Federation of Filipino Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Industry (FFCCCI) and Bankers Association of the Philippines (BAP).

**SECTION 3.** <u>Organizational Set-up</u> The Joint Commission shall be chaired by the DILG Secretary and co-chaired by the Chairman of FCP. The PNP Director and the President of the FCP shall serve as Co-Vice-Chairmen.