[ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER NO. 28, January 24, 2002]

CONSTITUTING A NATIONAL COMMITTEE FOR THE COMMEMORATION OF THE 16th ANNIVERSARY OF THE FEBRUARY 22-25, 1986 FIRST PEACEFUL PEOPLE POWER EDSA REVOLUTION AND THE 1st ANNIVERSARY OF EDSA-2

WHEREAS, the February 22-25 first peaceful People Power EDSA revolution otherwise known as EDSA-1 restored democratic institutions and ushered meaningful political, social and economic reforms in the country, while EDSA-2 further pursued the reforms towards reformation and good governance;

WHEREAS, the triumph of both peaceful revolutions for social and political change and reformation was anchored upon people power, the ultimate demonstration of the citizens' solidarity in seeking to transform Philippine society and chart a new course for the country's history by linking arms and courageously asserting their democratic rights for the commonweal;

WHEREAS, EDSA-1 and EDSA-2 serve as our inspiration as we continue charting our collective course as a nation and a people.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, GLORIA MACAPAGAL-ARROYO, President of the Republic of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby order:

SECTION 1. Constitution of a National Committee. There is hereby constituted a National Committee for the commemoration of the 16th Anniversary of the February 22-25, 1986 First Peaceful Power EDSA Revolution and the 1st Anniversary of EDSA-2, which shall be chaired by the Chairman and Co-Chairman of the EDSA People Power Commission, Secretary Alberto Romulo and Commissioner Ramon del Rosario, Jr., respectively. Secretary Dinky Soliman of the Department of Social Welfare and Development, is hereby designated as Vice Chairperson. The other members of the EDSA People Power Commission shall also be members of the National Committee, serving as representatives of the NGO's/Private and Business Sectors, together with the following representatives of the Government Sector:

- 1. Secretary of the Department of Foreign Affairs
- 2. Secretary of the Department of Tourism
- 3. Secretary of the Department of National Defense
- 4. Secretary of the Department of Public Works and Highways
- 5. Secretary of the Department of Interior and Local Government
- 6. Secretary of the Department of Budget and Management
- 7. Secretary of the Department of Education
- 8. Secretary of the Department of Labor and Employment
- 9. Secretary of the Presidential Management Staff
- 10. Chairman of the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority