## [ ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER NO. 8, October 20, 2017 ]

## RATIONALIZING THE COMPOSITION OF THE NATIONAL ECONOMIC AND DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY (NEDA) BOARD, THE NEDA BOARD EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE (EXCOM), AND THE INVESTMENT COORDINATION COMMITTEE (ICC)

**WHEREAS,** Executive Order (EO) No. 230 (s. 1987) defines the composition of the NEDA Board, its powers and functions, and the composition, powers and functions of its inter-agency committees;

**WHEREAS,** under Section 4 of EO No. 230, the President may revise the membership of the NEDA Board whenever the same is deemed necessary for the effective performance of the Board's functions through an administrative or memorandum order;

**WHEREAS,** Republic Act (RA) No. 7653 or the New Central Bank Act, RA No. 7638 or the Department of Energy Act of 1992, and RA No. 9996 or the Mindanao Development Act of 2010 provide for *ex-officio* members of the NEDA Board, namely: the Deputy Governor designated by the Governor of the *Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas* (BSP), the Secretary of Energy, and the Chairperson of the Mindanao Development Authority (MinDA);

**WHEREAS,** Memorandum Order (MO) No, 222 (s. 1994), as amended, reactivated the NEDA Board ExCom constituted by virtue of NEDA Board Resolution No. 17 (s. 1973), as amended, to facilitate action on matters requiring the decision of the NEDA Board;

**WHEREAS,** EO No. 158 (s. 2002) reactivated and reorganized the NEDA Board ExCom;

**WHEREAS,** Section 4 of EO No. 99 (s. 2012) provides that the Cabinet Secretary shall be a member of the NEDA Board ExCom and the ICC;

**WHEREAS**, it is the policy of the Administration to streamline the decision-making process in the bureaucracy, including the ICC and NEDA Board, for a more effective and speedy disposition of matters presented for their approval;

**NOW, THEREFORE I, RODRIGO ROA DUTERTE**, President of the Republic of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by the Constitution and existing laws, do hereby order:

**SECTION 1. Composition of the NEDA Board.** The NEDA Board is hereby reconstituted and shall be composed of the following members: