[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 711, June 06, 1952]

AN ACT TO CREATE THE PROVINCES OF ZAMBOANGA DEL NORTE AND ZAMBOANGA DEL SUR.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The Province of Zamboanga is hereby divided into two provinces, to be known as Zamboanga del Norte and Zamboanga del Sur, in the following manner:

The Province of Zamboanga del Norte shall consist of that portion of the present Province of Zamboanga which comprises the municipalities of Dapitan, Rizal, Dipolog, Katipunan, Sindangan, Labason, Siocon, Polanco, New Piñan, Liloy, and Manukan.

The Province of Zamboanga del Sur shall consist of the other portion of the present Province of Zamboanga comprising the municipalities of Molave, Aurora, Labangan, Pagadian, Dimataling, Margosatubig, Ipil, Kabasalan, Dinas, Molangas and Alicia.

SEC. 2. The capital of Zamboanga del Norte shall be Dipolog and that of Zamboanga del Sur shall be Pagadian.

SEC. 3. Except as hereinafter provided, the provisions of law now or hereafter applicable to the regularly organized provinces shall be applicable to the provinces of Zamboanga del Norte and Zamboanga del Sur.

SEC. 4. The elective provincial officials of the present Province of Zamboanga elected at the last general election for local officials shall continue to govern the Province of Zamboanga del Norte until their successors shall have been elected in the next general election and shall have qualified. The provincial governor, the provincial treasurer, and the provincial fiscal of Zamboanga del Norte shall continue to receive the salaries they are receiving at the time of the approval of this Act, until a new readjustment of salaries is effected in accordance with existing law: *Provided*, That in the readjustment of salaries all the personnel of the two provinces should receive the minimum salary or compensation provided by the Minimum Wage Law.

SEC. 5. The first provincial governor and members of the provincial board of the Province of Zamboanga del Sur shall be appointed by the President of the Philippines with the consent of the Commission on Appointments, and shall hold office until their successors shall have been elected at the next general election and shall have qualified.

SEC. 6. Upon the approval of this Act, the funds, assets and other properties and the obligations of the Province of Zamboanga shall be divided equitably between the Province of Zamboanga del Norte and the Province of Zamboanga del Sur by the