[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 1138, June 16, 1954]

AN ACT TO AMEND CERTAIN SECTIONS OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE, AS AMENDED BY REPUBLIC ACT NUMBERED ONE HUNDRED SIXTY-FOUR, RELATIVE TO OFFICES OF REGISTERS OF DEEDS.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Sections one hundred ninety-two, one hundred ninety-two (*b*), and two hundred one of the Administrative Code, as amended by Republic Act Numbered One hundred sixty-four, are hereby amended to read as follows:

"SEC. 192. Office of register of deeds.—There shall be one register of deeds for each city and one for each province except in the Mountain Province, where there shall be two: one for the Subprovince of Benguet and another for the rest of the province: *Provided, however,* That the register of deeds of the City of Baguio or who ever performs his duties shall be *ex officio* register of deeds for the Subprovince of Benguet, and that the register of deeds of a province whose capital is a chartered city or whoever is acting in his place shall likewise be ex officio register of deeds for said city.

"There shall be one deputy register of deeds in each of the registries of the City of Manila, Quezon City, the provinces of Cebu, Iloilo, Negros Occidental, Pangasinan and Rizal, and also in each registry with a yearly average collection of more than thirty thousand pesos, whenever in the judgment of the Secretary of Justice the needs of the service so demand. The deputy register of deeds shall be in the classified service and shall be appointed by the Secretary of Justice, upon recommendation of the Chief of the General Land Registration Office."

"SEC. 192(*b*). *Salaries of registers of deeds.*—The salary of the register of deeds of the City of Manila shall be seven thousand two hundred pesos per annum; (1) that of the registers of deeds of the Provinces' of Iloilo, Negros Occidental, and Rizal, and Quezon City, six thousand pesos per annum; (2) that of the register of deeds of the Province of Pangasinan, five thousand four hundred pesos per annum; (3) that of the registers of deeds of the Provinces of Bulacan, Cebu, Nueva Ecija, Quezon, and Tarlac, and Pasay City, four eight hundred pesos *per annum;* (4) that of the registers of deeds of the Provinces of Bulacan, Cebu, Nueva Ecija, Quezon, and Tarlac, and Pasay City, four eight hundred pesos *per annum;* (4) that of the registers of deeds of the Provinces of Batangas, Camarines Sur, Capiz, Cavite, Davao, Ilocos Norte, Isabela, and Laguna, four thousand two hundred pesos *per annum;* (5) that of the registers of deeds of the Provinces of Antique, Bataan, Bohol, Cagayan, Camarines Norte, Cotabato, Ilocos Sur, La Union, Leyte, Mindoro Oriental, Misamis Oriental,