[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 1914, June 22, 1957]

AN ACT TO PROVIDE ONE ADDITIONAL JUDGE FOR THE THIRTEENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT TO PRESIDE OVER THE COURT OF FIRST INSTANCE OF SAMAR, WITH PERMANENT STATION IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF CATARMAN, PROVINCE OF SAMAR, AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE SECTIONS FIFTY, FIFTY-TWO AND FIFTY-FOUR OF THE JUDICIARY ACT OF NINETEEN HUNDRED AND FORTY-EIGHT.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The thirteenth paragraph of section fifty of Republic Act Numbered Two hundred ninety-six, entitled "The Judiciary Act of nineteen hundred and forty-eight," as amended by Republic Act Numbered Eleven hundred eighty-six, is further amended to read as follows:

"Ten judges shall be commissioned for the Thirteenth Judicial District. Four judges shall preside over the Courts of First Instance of Samar and Calbayog City and shall be known as judges of the first, second, third and fourth branches thereof, respectively; and six judges shall preside over the Courts of First Instance of Leyte and the cities of Ormoc and Tacloban, shall be known as judges of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth and sixth branches thereof, respectively."

SEC. 2. The fourteenth paragraph of section fifty-two of the same Act, as amended by Republic Act Numbered Eleven hundred eighty-six, is further amended to read as follows:

"For the Thirteenth Judicial District, the judge of the first branch of the Court of First Instance of Samar shall be stationed in the Municipality of Catbalogan, Province of Samar, the judge of the second branch, in the Municipality of Borongan, same province; the judge of the third branch, in the Municipality of Laoang, same province; and the judge of the fourth branch, in the Municipality of Catarman, same province; the judges of the first and second branches of the Court of First Instance of Leyte shall be stationed in the City of Tacloban, the judge of the third branch, in the Municipality of Maasin, Province of Leyte; the judge of the fourth branch, in the Municipality of Baybay, same province; the judge of the fifth branch, in the City of Ormoc; and the judge of the sixth branch, in the Municipality of Carigara, Leyte."

SEC. 3. The eleventh paragraph of section fifty-four of the same Act is amended to read as follows: