[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 2228, May 22, 1959]

AN ACT TO CREATE THE PROVINCES OF LANAO DEL NORTE AND LANAO DEL SUR

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The Province of Lanao is hereby divided into two Provinces, one to be known as Lanao del Norte and tlie other as Lanao del Sur.

SEC. 2. The Province of Lanao del Norte shall consists of that portion of the present province of Lanao del Norte shall consist of that portion of the present Province of Lanao which comprises the municipalities of Baloi, Kauswagan, Bacolod, Maigo, Kolambugan, Tubod, Baroy, Lala, Kapatagan and Caromatan and the municipal districts of Matungao, Pan-tao-Ragat, Munai, Tangcal and Nunungan.

SEC. 3. The Province of Lanao del Sur shall consist of the other portion of the present Province of Lanao comprising the Municipality of Malabang and the. municipal districts of Pualas, Tatarikan, Tubaran, Binidayan, Ba-yang, Ganassi, Butig, Lumbatan, Masiu, Madamba, Madalum, Bacolod-Grande, Tugaya, Balindong, Marantao, Saguiaran, Kapai, Wao, Ramain, Babong, Molundo, Taraka, Lumba-a-Bayabao, Poon-a-Bayabao and Tamparan.

SEC. 4. The capital of Lanao del Norte shall be the City of Iligan and that of Lanao del Sur shall be the City of Marawi.

SEC. 5. Except as hereinafter provided, all provisions of law how or hereafter applicable to the regular provinces shall be applicable to the provinces of Lanao del Norte and Lanao del Sur and the qualified electors of the City of Iligan shall continue to vote for Provincial Governor and members of the Provincial Board for the Province of Lanao del Norte.

SEC. 6. The present elective provincial officers of Lanao shall, until their successors shall have been elected and shall have qualified, perform their respective duties as such officers in either of the two provinces herein created which they shall individually choose within thirty days from the date of the approval of this Act: *Provided*, That they shall continue to receive the salaries they are receiving at the time of the approval of this Act, until a new readjustment of salaries in accordance with existing law. Such elective officers as may be necessary to fill vacancies in either of the said provinces shall for the time being be appointed by the President of the Philippines with the consent of the Commission on Appointments and shall hold office until their successors shall have been elected in 1 election for provincial and municipal officials following the approval of this Act, and shall have qualified.

SEC. 7. The present appointive provincial officers and employees of Lanao shall