[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 3609, June 22, 1963]

AN ACT CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OF SOCORRO IN THE PROVINCE OF ORIENTAL MINDORO.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The barrios of Pasi, Leuteboro, Subaan, Catiningan, and the sitios of Bajugan, Calubayan, Sintakan, Bayuin Malaki, Putol na Bato, Bayuin Munti, Maragooc, Daan, Pola, Junction, Maluanluan No. 1, Bodega, Merit, Lapog, Batong Dalig, Matungao, and Tiwi in the Municipality of Pola, Province of Oriental Mindoro, are separated from said municipality and constituted into a distinct and independent municipality, to be known as Municipality of Socorro, same province. The new Municipality of Socorro shall be bounded on the North by the Municipality of Victoria; on the East by the Municipality of Pola; on the South by the Municipality of Pinamalayan and on the West by the present boundary of the provinces of Occidental and Oriental Mindoro. The seat of government of the new municipality shall be in the present site of the barrio of Pola Junction.

SEC. 2. The first mayor, vice-mayor and councilors of new municipality shall be .appointed by the President with the consent of the Commission on Appointments and shall hold office until their successors shall have been elected in the next general elections for local officials and shall have qualified.

SEC. 3. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Approved, June 22, 1963.



Source: Supreme Court E-Library This page was dynamically generated by the E-Library Content Management System (E-LibCMS)