[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 3697, June 22, 1963]

AN ACT CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OF SERGIO OSMEÑA IN THE PROVINCE OF ZAMBOANGA DEL NORTE.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The barrios of Sibulan, Dampalan, Labag, Princess La Maya and Marapong are separated from the Municipality of Pinan in the Province of Zamboanga del Norte, and constituted into a separate and independent municipality in the same province to be known as the Municipality of Sergio Osmena, with the seat of government at the present site of the barrio of Sibulan. The boundaries of the said municipality shall be as follows:

"From the intersection of longitude one hundred twenty-nine degrees ten minutes (129° 10') and latitude eight degrees twenty minutes (8° 20') in a straight line due east until it intersects the provincial boundary of Misamis Occidental and Zamboanga del Norte; thence due south to latitude eight degrees thirteen minutes (8° 13'); thence due west until it intersects longitude one hundred twenty-nine degrees ten minutes (129°10'); thence, due north to latitude eight degrees twenty minutes (8° 20'), the point of beginning."

SEC. 2. The first mayor, vice-mayor and councilors of the newly created municipality shall be appointed by the President of the Philippines with the consent of the Commission on Appointments and shall hold office until their successors shall have been elected in the next general election for local officials and shall have qualified.

SEC. 3. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Approved, June 22, 1963.

