[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 4762, June 18, 1966]

AN ACT CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OF MAPANAS IN THE PROVINCE OF SAMAR

Be enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines assembled:

SECTION 1. Earrios Mapanas, Magtaon Magsaysay, Jubasan, Quezon, San Jose and Siljagon in the Municipality of Gamay, Province of Samar, are separated from said municipality and constituted into a distinct and independent municipality to be known as the Municipality of Mapanas, same province. The seat of government of the municipality shall be in the site of the barrio of Mapanas.

- SEC. 2. The technical description of the proposed municipality is as follows: "Beginning at point 1 coastal border facing the Pacific Ocean following an the irregular shore line to point 2; thence, from point 2 continuing the irregular shore line to point 3; thence, from point 3 also with irregular shore line to point 4; thence, from point 4 with the same irregular shore line to point to point 5; thence, from point 5 following a straight line until it intersects point 6, common boundaries of the Municipalities of Gamay and Jipapad; and Gamay and Catubig: thence, from point 6 following a straight line until it intersects point 7, common boundaries of the Municipalities of Gamay and Palapag; thence, from point 7 back to point 1, point of beginning."
- SEC. 3. The Municipality of Gamay shall retain its present territory except the barrios comprising the new Municipality of Mapanas.
- SEC. 4. The first mayor, vice-mayor and councilors of the newly created Municipality of Mapanas shall be elected in the next general elections for local officials.
- SEC. 5. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Approved, June 18, 1966.

